WATCH: Tomic’s ridiculous underarm serve clinches match

Bernard Tomic of Australia reacts during his match with compatriot Nick Kyrgios on the second day of the Kooyong Classic tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 9, 2019. (Photo by William WEST / AFP) / -- IMAGE RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE - STRICTLY NO COMMERCIAL USE --

Bernard Tomic of Australia reacts during his match with compatriot Nick Kyrgios on the second day of the Kooyong Classic tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 9, 2019. (Photo by William WEST / AFP) / -- IMAGE RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE - STRICTLY NO COMMERCIAL USE --

The combustible Aussie was playing against countryman Nick Kyrgios, another man known for questionable antics.

The Australian tennis pair of Bernard Tomic and Nick Kyrgios have become well known for their moments of madness.

So when the two countrymen met for the first time ever on court at this week’s Kooyong Classic, it was naturally expected that there would be some form of drama.

While there were no tantrums, the match ended on a controversial note when Tomic clinched the match 6-3 6-4 with an underarm serve between his legs.

It was a skillful but also sneaky way to end proceedings and also led to calls over the shot’s legality.

Tomic hit the ball between his legs while still bouncing another … and it totally stumped Kyrgios and the umpire.

According to the International Tennis Federation’s rules, an underarm serve is allowed provided the ball is hit before touching the ground.

In this instance, the ball did seem to touch the ground before it was hit.

“I don’t think there has ever been a player like Bernard,” Kyrgios said afterwards.

For more sport your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.


 


 

 


today in print

today in print