PSL News 14.1.2018 10:42 am

Mosimane unhappy with Pirates goalkeeper

Pitso Mosimane, Head Coach of Mamelodi Sundowns (Chris Ricco/BackpagePix)

Pitso Mosimane, Head Coach of Mamelodi Sundowns (Chris Ricco/BackpagePix)

Pitso Mosimane was very upset with Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Jackson Mabokgwane following his side’s 3-1 defeat at the hands of the Buccaneers on Saturday afternoon.

The Pirates goal-minder was subsequently named Man-of-the-Match (MOTM) for keeping Masandawana’s frontline at bay for most of the game although he could not deny Percy Tau his seventh Absa Premiership goal of the campaign.

Mosimane said if he could have it his way, he would have handpicked Luvuyo Memela as his MOTM.

“The way we missed our chances is unbelievable, Sundowns can just miss goals. It is a game of missed chances. We just made mistakes and we shot ourselves on the foot with the first two goals,” said the former Bafana Bafana mentor.

“The third goal was a brilliant one from Memela. He was my MOTM, not Jackson Mabokgwane. He was sleeping on the floor and you give him MOTM. Where is fair play? Let’s play football. I think he killed out 10 minutes and the referee added four minutes and that’s unacceptable for me.

“We went there (Orlando Stadium ) and we won 3-1. Denis Onyango was never on the floor. That’s the only thing I don’t like. The rest, I think Pirates played well. I am not unhappy with the performance, I am unhappy with the result.”

Would you like to place a soccer bet? Click here to get started in 3 easy steps.

Ad Placeholder POS 3 id: ad_300x250_1
Ad Placeholder POS 4 id: ad_300x250_2

Ad Placeholder POS 5 id: ad_300x600_1
Ad Placeholder POS 8 id: ad_300x250_3


Wits vs Polokwane
Ajax CT vs Baroka FC
Celtic vs Chippa Utd
Arrows vs Chiefs


Sundowns 1-0 Arrows
Chippa 1-1 Ajax
Baroka FC 0-2 Maritzburg
Chiefs 1-0 Plat Stars

psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Mamelodi Sundowns 27 55
2 Orlando Pirates 27 49
3 Maritzburg United 27 42
4 Kaizer Chiefs 27 42
5 Free State Stars 27 39
6 Cape Town City 27 36
7 Chippa United 27 34
8 Bloem Celtic 27 34
9 Baroka FC 27 33
10 Bidvest Wits 26 32
11 AmaZulu 27 32
12 Golden Arrows 27 31
13 Polokwane City 26 30
14 SuperSport United 27 29
15 Ajax Cape Town 27 28
16 Platinum Stars 27 21