local soccer 13.9.2017 02:50 pm

Will Tinkler finally win the Caf Confed Cup?

Eric Tinkler, coach of Supersport United (Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix)

Eric Tinkler, coach of Supersport United (Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix)

Eric Tinkler came agonisingly close to winning the Caf Confederation Cup two years ago when he guided Orlando Pirates to the final of the competition.

Bucs, however, were edged 2-1 on aggregate by Etoile du Sahel of Tunisia.

Tinkler will once again resume his quest of fulfilling his dream of lifting a continental club competition when he leads SuperSport United in this year’s competition.

Matsatsantsa will play Zesco United in the first leg quarterfinal of the Caf Confederation Cup on Friday evening at the Lucas Moripe Stadium, with the return leg pencilled for seven days later at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola.

“I am happy to be back in Caf Competitions. I am one person who has always believed that South African clubs need to participate and do well in such competitions,” Tinkler told Caf Online.

Tinkler added he had thoroughly studied Zesco.

“We are at a stage of the competition where all teams are good, and whatever weakness we have seen might be corrected come Friday. Yes, we have studied how they play, but we also need to be on our A-game.

“We have identified a number of good players that are dangerous in offence. They are also very versatile in their formation, which makes it slightly challenging to plan against them but we will be ready,” concluded Tinkler.

READ: Late SuperSport double strike sinks Dikwena

Would you like to place a soccer bet? Click here to get started in 3 easy steps.

To comment you need to be signed in to Facebook. Please do not comment by saying anything prejudiced.
We reserve the right to remove offensive comments.


Chiefs 0-0 Arrows
AmaZulu 1-1 P Stars
Wits 1-0 Pirates
Baroka 2-2 Ajax CT


Maritzburg Utd vs FS Stars
Arrows vs Chippa Utd
Ajax CT vs CT City
Chiefs vs Baroka

psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Golden Arrows 6 12
2 Baroka FC 6 12
3 Orlando Pirates 6 11
4 Kaizer Chiefs 6 9
5 Cape Town City 5 9
6 Maritzburg United 5 8
7 AmaZulu 6 8
8 SuperSport United 4 7
9 Mamelodi Sundowns 3 6
10 Ajax Cape Town 5 5
11 Bloem Celtic 4 5
12 Chippa United 5 5
13 Bidvest Wits 6 5
14 Free State Stars 5 4
15 Polokwane City 6 4
16 Platinum Stars 6 2