Phakaaathi Reporter
Football writer
1 minute read
20 Jan 2016
10:50 am

SAFA and NFD clubs set for Nedbank Cup 2016

Phakaaathi Reporter

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) yesterday confirmed eight SAFA clubs who will be partaking in this season’s edition of the Nedbank Cup Tournament to kick-off in March.

Lux September, PSL with Derek Blanckensee, GM of Football. ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

The SAFA clubs went through qualification round last year and will join eight National First Division (NFD) teams that qualified for the tournament, in order to make 32 teams including all 16 PSL teams.

The SAFA clubs who have qualified are: EC Bees (Eastern Cape, ABC Motsepe League), Sibanye Golden Stars (Free State, ABC Motsepe League), African All Stars (Gauteng, ABC Motsepe League), Magesi FC (Limpopo, ABC Motsepe League), Milford FC (Kwa-Zulu Natal, ABC Motsepe League), Polokwane City Rovers (North West, ABC Motsepe League), Steenberg United (Western Cape, ABC Motsepe League) and United Rovers (Northern Cape, SAB League).

The eight NFD clubs are: AmaZulu, Highlands Park, Mthatha Bucks, Moroka Swallows, Santos, Mbombela United, Baroka FC and Black Leopards.