Premium Journalist
2 minute read
26 Jul 2015
5:40 pm

Bafana coach happy with World Cup draw


Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba says he is happy to meet Angola in the preliminary African qualifying rounds of the 2018 World Cup which was made on Saturday in host nation Russia.

Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba. Pic: Lefty Shivambu/Gallo Images)

South Africa has played in three World Cups since the country’s readmission into world football in the early 1990s. Having qualified for the 1998 and 2002 World Cup, South Africa have not qualified for a World Cup in 13 years – excluding the 2010 World Cup the country participated in as hosts.

“I think in all fairness, it was a fair draw. One could not have asked for a better draw than this one,” said Mashaba in Russia on Sunday.

“We have played Angola on a number of occasions, although the outcomes were close, we have had an upper hand,” said Mashaba from Russia.

“It (the draw) was more or less what we expected; you cannot reach the World Cup finals without facing tough teams. One thing is for sure, we will prepare thoroughly against Angola; we won’t underestimate them,” added Mashaba.

Angola will host Bafana Bafana in Luanda on October 11 with the return leg expected in South Africa two weeks later.

Round 2 winners from Africa will then be drawn into five groups of four in which the winner of each group qualify for Russia 2018.


First round (October 2015):

Somalia v Niger; South Sudan v Mauritania; Gambia v Namibia; Sao Tome and Principe v Ethiopia; Chad v Sierra Leone; Comoros v Lesotho; Djibouti v Swaziland; Eritrea v Botswana; Seychelles v Burundi; Liberia v Guinea Bissau; Central African Republic v Madagascar; Mauritius v Kenya; Tanzania v Malawi

Second round (November 2015):

Somalia or Niger v Cameroon; South Sudan or Mauritania v Tunisia ; Gambia or Namibia v Guinea; Sao Tome and Principe or Ethiopia v Congo; Chad or Sierra Leone v Egypt; Comoros or Lesotho v Ghana; Djibouti or Swaziland v Nigeria; Eritrea or Botswana v Mali; Seychelles or Burundi v Democratic Republic of Congo; Liberia or Guinea Bissau v Ivory Coast; Central Africa Republic or Madagascar v Senegal; Mauritius or Kenya v Cape Verde; Tanzania or Malawi v Algeria; Sudan v Zambia; Libya v Rwanda; Morocco v Equatorial Guinea; Mozambique v Gabon; Benin v Burkina Faso; Togo v Uganda; Angola v South Africa