Phakaaathi Reporter
Football writer
1 minute read
25 Nov 2016
11:00 am

South African referee not surprised by Lamptey’s suspension

Phakaaathi Reporter

Lamptey was suspended after awarding Bafana Bafana a controversial penalty.

The decision of the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) decision to suspend Ghanaian international referee Joseph Lamptey didn’t come as a surprise to South African soccer referee Sylvester Ndaba.

Lamptey was suspended after awarding Bafana Bafana a controversial penalty in a 2018 World Cup qualifier.

The referee gave the unwarranted penalty to Bafana Bafana when a ball from a South African player struck the thigh of a Senegalese defender in the penalty box.

Lamptey wrongly pointed to the penalty spot, thinking the ball came off the defender’s hand.

“I have to move away from politics and deal with what really happened on the field of play. We always say to referees, when you make decisions as a referee, it’s okay to make mistake, you are human, we understand, but don’t make mistakes that will change the outcome of the game. So I am not surprised this decision was taken. I can only give my personal view based on the performance of the match official, not anything else. There are incident he could have handled better, but he didn’t, so I wasn’t surprised by the decision.”