North West, Mpumalanga nominate Dlamini-Zuma for ANC presidency

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

The former African Union chairperson has garnered 123 votes, while 117 were behind Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa.

North West have followed closely behind Mpumalanga and is the latest province to back former African Union (AU) chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma for the ANC top job.

Dlamini Zuma received 291 nominations while Ramaphosa trailed behind with 44.

Earlier Mpumalanga declared its support following its provincial general council meeting in Nelspruit on Friday.

Provincial chairperson David Mabuza was nominated for the position of ANC deputy president, while former KwaZulu-Natal premier Senzo Mchunu was backed for secretary-general.

ANC secretary-general Gwede Mantashe was voted as chairperson by the province’s general council.

Despite 223 abstentions for the position of presidency, Dlamini-Zuma amassed 123 votes, while Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa accumulated 117.

Mabuza said he would give up his position for deputy president to unite the party.

“If we are saying that unity of the ANC must be put first‚ that means the leadership of the ANC that we are going to elect is going to be achieved through consensus‚” Mabuza told Times LIVE.

The Mpulanga branch also stated that they had nominated unity, putting the best interests of the party ahead and shunning slates.

The Free State announced on Wednesday that it would be backing Dlamini-Zuma for ANC presidency. The Sowetan reported that she garnered the support of 206 branches, while 44 branches were behind Ramaphosa.

Free State officially nominates Dlamini-Zuma for ANC presidency

For more news your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.


today in print