ANC MPs send complaints to public protector about corruption at Treasury

Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane. Picture: Jacques Nelles

Five ANC MPs have approached the public protector in their personal capacities.

The complaint lists the names of Malusi Gigaba, Nomvula Mokonayne, Bathabile Dlamini and David Mahlobo describing how National Treasury and the institutions affiliated to it have not delivered services advantageous to the citizens of South Africa.

ANC chief whip Jackson Mthembu said it was only five MPs who had submitted their complaints to Busi Mkhwebane’s office. In addition, the complaint includes the names of 90 people and 49 signatures of people who were “ANC MPs and concerned South African citizens”.

Meanwhile, Eskom CEO Brian Molefe has been tipped to head Treasury after IFP MP Mkhuleko Hlengwa tweeted that South Africans “should watch this space”.

The post of Treasury director-general became vacant when long-serving former DG Fuzile Lungisa retired after 21 years in the department following the firing of Pravin Gordhan and the appointment of Malusi Gigaba as the new minister of finance.

Molefe’s appointment has been rescinded by Public Enterprises Minister Lynne Brown after pressure from the ANC.


For more news your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.

today in print

today in print