Lockdown: Extension for expired driving licences, all domestic airports open

(file photo)

A number of lockdown regulations have been relaxed before President Cyril Ramaphosa’s speech to the nation tonight.

Even before President Cyril Ramaphosa could address the nation on new Covid-19 lockdown regulations in the wake of a worrying increase in cases in certain areas, a number of regulations have been amended.

One of the first amendments published in the Government Gazette on Thursday was that the validity of all driving licences that expired between 26 March and 31 December this year, have been extended until 31 August 2021.

“All learner’s licences, driving licence cards, temporary driving licences and professional driving permits that expire during the period that commenced from 26 March 2020 up to and including 31 December 2020 are deemed to be valid and their validity periods are extended for a further grace period ending on 31 August 2021,” Transport Minister Fikile Mbalula declared in the amendment.

ALSO READ: Outa flooded with complaints from motorists over licence renewals

The amendment is valid from the date of publication in the Gazette, which is Thursday, 3 December 2020.

Another major change in terms of travel before the festive season, is that all domestic airports have been opened for domestic flights.

Government also clarified that quarantine or self-isolation for international travellers is at the travellers’ own cost.

Here is the list of domestic airports that have been opened for domestic flights, as gazetted on 3 December 2020:

(a) Bram Fischer International Airport;
(b) Cape Town International Airport;
(c) East London;
(d) George Airport;
(e) Hoedspruit Airport;
(f) Kimberly Airport;
(g) King Shaka International Airport;
(h) Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport;
(i) Lanseria International Airport;
(j) Margate Airport;
(k) Mthatha Airport;
(I) OR Tambo International Airport;
(m) Phalaborwa Airport;
(n) Pietermaritzburg Airport;
(o) Pilanesburg Airport;
(p) Plettenberg Bay Airport;
(q) Polokwane Airport;
(r) Port Elizabeth International Airport;
(s) Richards Bay Airport;
(t) Sishen Airport;
(u) Skukuza Airport; and
(v) Upington International Airport.

  • This is a developing story which will be updated as soon as fresh information is received.

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

today in print

today in print