SuperGP regulations for 2016 published

The SuperMasters category now has national championship status.

The regulations and specifications for the 2016 South African Motorcycle Road Racing Championship have been published. The regulations cover four national championship classes, SuperJunior, Super600, SuperGP and SuperMasters.

The SuperMasters category (for riders above the age of 30 or who turn 30 in the calendar year of competition) now has national championship status. Race bikes in this category will comply with the same rules as the SuperGP category bikes.

Key changes to the rules include:

  • Suspension modifications are now permitted in SuperGP
  • Exhausts are open for both SuperGP and Super600
  • Super600 suspension can be modified
  • SuperJuniors will have a choice of tyres with the Pirelli Diablo Corsa tyre being permitted.

A full copy of the 2016 rules can be downloaded from the SuperGP website.

Dick Shuttle – MSA Motorcycle Commission President commented  “The rules were amended after consultation with the Teams and Riders and in the interest of increasing the grids by bringing in new competitors and manufacturers.”

The 2016 SuperGP Champions Trophy will run over eight rounds. Each event will take place on a Friday and Saturday with practice and qualifying happening on the Friday and two heats for each category scheduled for the Saturday.

2016 Calendar

Round Event Date
1 Mpumalanga SuperGP, Red Star 19th & 20th February
2 Free State SuperGP, Phakisa Freeway 11th & 12th March
3 Tshwane SuperGP, Zwartkops 29th & 30th April
4 Western Cape SuperGP, Killarney 27th & 28th May
5 Gauteng SuperGP, Kyalami 30th & 31st July *
6 Eastern Cape SuperGP, Aldo Scribante 26th & 27th August
7 Kwa-Zulu Natal SuperGP, Dezzi Raceway 23rd & 24th September
8 Delmas SuperGP, Red Star 28th & 29th October

today in print

today in print