Packed line-up at Midvaal

BEEMERS. Paulo Loureiro (BMW E36 M3 GTS) should be the man to beat in the Bridgestone BMW Club races. Picture: RacePics.

BEEMERS. Paulo Loureiro (BMW E36 M3 GTS) should be the man to beat in the Bridgestone BMW Club races. Picture: RacePics.

Racing starts at 10am but the action starts much earlier with the practice sessions.

The Amtec Midvaal circuit near Meyerton will host a round of the 2018 EV Dynamics Inland Championship series on Saturday, with a full programme boasting eight competition disciplines and a total of 17 races.

Heading up the programme will be races for MotorMart VW Challenge competitors, with more than 20 cars expected to face the starter.

The current overall championship leader is Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo), with his closest challengers being Stiaan Kriel (Pozidrive Polo), Jacques Smith (BPM Engineering Polo), Waldie Meintjes (Dimension Signs Polo), Nic
Clarke (Avo Performance Suspension Polo), Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) and Lyle Ramsay (Monroe Racing/Fuchs Polo).

There will be two races for Motul Modified Production Cars, with the man to beat certainly Keegan Pottas in his EV Dynamics Honda CRX.

His closest competitors should include Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothing Golf), Dirk Lawrence (JDM Tuning Honda), Paul van Niekerk (EV Dynamics Golf) plus Roan Ehlers (FEC Golf) and Ian Ehlers (FEC VW Polo).

Others to watch in the field will be Giles Darroch (EV Dynamics Golf) Paul Verios (LR Spares Golf) and Paul Saayman (Intercity Auto Golf).

The Motul Super Saloon car races should see front contenders like Marius Jacobs (AAA Recovery Tigra), JP Nortjie (111 VW), Marius Jackson (Mega Fibre Audi) Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothing Golf), Riaan Draper (Blessed Wheels Peugeot) and Jannie Breedt (Triplicon Construction Nissan).

The day’s closest event could well be provided by the Liqui Moly Inex Legends contenders. Top contenders must include Richard van Heerde, brothers Gerhard and Charl Roux, Jason Loosemore, Justin Robertson, Johann van der Venter, Ian Upton and Steven Levin.

The Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series will add flavour to proceedings. Favourites must include overall championship leader Paulo Loureiro (BMW E36 M3 GTS), David Coetzee (BMW E36 328i Turbo), Willie Erasmus (BMW E46 M3 GTR), Jan Eversteyn (BMW E46 M3) and Rick Loureiro (BMW E30 325is).

The Superhatch races should see a continuation of the season-long fight for supremacy between Brett Garland (autObarn Honda Civic), Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) and Werner Pieterse (Scarlet Sun Volkswagen Golf).

Others to watch will be Andre Dannhauser (Pro Auto Rubber Opel Corsa), Shaun Smith (Pretoria Noord Toyota RunX) and Chris Davidson (Precision Technologies Opel Superboss).

The Formula Monoposto competitors will bring a mixed bag of cars to the event.

Louis van der Merwe (Formula Gti) will be the leading Class A contender, while in Class B Formula Ford drivers
Mac Odendaal and John Maurien will battle it out for top honours.

The Hankook Formula Vee races should feature podium chasers like championship leader Jaco Schriks (Bean Child Rhema), Lushen Ramchander (TRA Forza), Gert van den Berg (BP Nantes Rhema), Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema), Geoffrey Tugwell (Rhema), Brandon Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema) and Symm Grobler (Rhema).

Racing will begin at 10am with practice sessions in the early morning.

  •  Admission R50 per person and kids under 12 free.
  • Tickets can be purchased at the gate on the day.
  • For more information call the Midvaal office at 016 364 1277.



today in print

today in print