Extreme festival at Kyalami

Two national titles still very much up for grabs in Global Touring Car races.

The Kyalami Grand Prix circuit will host the penultimate round of this year’s Extreme Festival this Saturday, with 14 separate racing disciplines set to produce a motorsport extravaganza.

  • Official top billing will belong to the Sasol Global Touring Car contingent, with the category’s two national title chases still very much up for grabs. Michael Stephen (Engen Xtreme Audi A3) and Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol BMW) will lock horns for the overall title lead, with nothing to choose between them. Able to interfere will be drivers like Simon Moss (Engen Xtreme Audi A3), Johan Fourie (EPS Couriers BMW), Robert Wolk (Sasol BMW), Daniel Rowe (VW Motorsport Jetta), Mathew Hodges (VW Motorsport Jetta) and Michael van Rooyen (RSC BMW). Keagan Masters (VW Motorsport GTI) leads the GTC2 championship, with his closest contenders expected to be Trevor Bland (TB Golf GTI), Bradley Liebenberg (Ferodo MINI JCW), Christopher Shorter (Champion MINI JCW), Charl Smalberger (Lee Thompson Golf GTI), Mandla Mdakane (VW Motorsport GTI), Darryn Lobb(Kalex Golf GTI) and Dayne Angel (Autohaus Angel Honda Civic).
  • One of the biggest crowd drawcards should be the races for G&H Transport Extreme Supercars, with 32 exotic vehicles to face the starter. Heading up the entry will be Toby Venter in his works Porsche 911 GT2R, challenged by people like Johan Engelbrecht (Jogjoga Porsche 911 GT2R), Craig Jarvis (Maui Motorhomes Ferrari), Marcel Angel (Autohaus Angel Ferrari 458 GT3) and Charl Arangies in his new Stradale Aston Martin Vantage GT3. Also chasing podium places should be people like Dino Scribante (Scribante Labour Porsche 997), Dawie Olivier (G&H Transport BMW M3), Lorenzo Gualtieri (Montana BMW E36 Turbo), Paul Hill (Kalex BMW 335i), Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothing BMW 328i), Sav Gualtieri (Montana BMW F30), Deon du Plessis (BPT KTM X-Bow) and Jonathan du Toit (TAR Ferrari F430).
  • Devin Robertson (Payen Polo) has already clinched the year’s Engen Volkswagen Cup championship, and chasing him at Kyalami will be drivers like Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Polo), Clinton Bezuidenhout (Glyco Polo), Juan Gerber (Glassfit Polo), Tasmin Pepper (Campos Polo), Shaun La Réservée (Alpine Motors Polo) and Matt Shorter (Moog Polo).
  • Already crowned 2017 champion Julian van der Watt (Investchem Mygale) must be the man to beat in the Investchem Formula 1600 races, with his closest challengers Brad Beningfield (General Energy Ford), Cameron O’Çonnor (Mygale), Alex Gillespie (ERP Trucking Mygale), Stuart White (Fantastic Mygale) and Andrew Schofield (Investchem Mygale).
  • Making a welcome guest appearance will be the SAMCAR V8 Supercar contingent led by competitors like Ben Morgenrood (Morgenrood Mustang), Mackie Adlem (Stardust Comm Jaguar), Terry Wilford (Fuchs Ford Falcon), Larry Wilford (Fuchs Ford Falcon), Grant van Schalkwyk (Ultimate V8 Chev Corvette), Roelf du Plessis (LSP Group Lumina), Lonika Maartens (Denmar Steel Lumina) and Benjamin Morgenrood (Ford Mustang).
  • The day’s closest racing could be provided by the Hankook Formula Vee contenders, with hectic victory dices to include Jaco Schriks (Cubed Coatings Rhema), Siyabonga Mankonkwana (Cervinia Investments Rhema), Luchen Ramchander (TRA Forza), Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema), Greg Wilson (Forza) and Gert van den Berg (BP Nantes Rhema).
  • Veteran Iain Pepper (Husqvarna Polo) should be the man to beat in the Volkswagen Challenge races, facing people like Stiaan Kriel (Spanjaard Polo), Wayne Crous (Delway Polo), Waldie Meintjies (Lee Thompson Polo), Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) and Devon Piazza-Musso (Reef Supplies Polo).
  • The day’s largest entry will belong to the 111 Sports and Saloon Car races. Front runners should include George Bezuidenhout (Accolade Nissan Primera), Lucas Bezuidenhout (Pta Noord Toyota Lexus), Louis Cloete AMS Tuning VW Beetle), Kevin Miller (Auto AirconFord), Nathan de Villiers (N&H VW Golf) and Dirk Lawrence (Vaal Timbers Honda Ballade).
  • Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) and Brett Garland (autObarn Honda Civic) should resume their season-long fight in the autObarn Superhatch races. Taking them on should be people like Chris Davison (Opel Superboss), Louis Scholtz (Car Care Honda Civic), Karel Stols Pta Noord Toyota RunX), Tyler Scott (Jestic Opel 200TS) and Mel Spurr (Rowlin AKA VW Polo).
  • Fighting for top places in the Red Square Kawasaki Masters races should be Sven Grune (ZX10R), Graeme van Breda (IVID ZX10R), Jaco Gous (Central Propshaft ZX10R), Greg Bezuidenhout (Kawasaki ZX10R), Henk Schuiling (Kawasaki ZX10R) and Michael Smit (PG Bison ZX10R).
  • Gavin Upton (Motion Perfection Yamaha R1) must be the victory favourite in the Bridgestone Thunderbike races, taking on riders like Morne Potgieter (Fourways Kawasaki ZX10R), Riaan Fourie Fourways Kawasaki ZX10R), Alex van den Berg (Suzuki South GSXR), Shaun Vermaak Powersport Kawasaki ZX10R) and Dean Vos (Trolan Kawasaki ZX10R).
  • Topping the Bridgestone Sub-10 Superbike entry will be riders like Johan Nortje (Fourways Kawasaki ZX10R), Hendrik Erasmus (E Engineering BMW S1000RR), Byron Rothquel (Mag Magic BMW S100) and Harry Timmermann Adrenaline Yamaha R1).
  • Rounding out the day’s activities will be races for Bridgestone Challenge motorcycles, with top contender likely to be Kyle Taveres (Frost Honda CBR100), Waseem Wadvalla (Fast Bike Suzuki GSXR), Deon de Beer (No Rules BMW 1000RR) and Coen Erasmus (E Engineering Suzuki).

When and where:

  • Kyalami’s gates will be open from 7am, with racing scheduled to commence at 7.50am
  • Tickets can be purchased at iTickets.co.za. General access starts at R50 and premium package at R400. Pit passes are R75 each. Children under 12 are free.



today in print

today in print