Jayde to lead JTR Formula Ford team

CONTINUITY. Jayde Kruger will tackle the 2014 British Formula Ford championship as leader of last year's winning team.

South African driver Jayde Kruger has been signed to lead the title-winning JTR team in this year’s Dunlop Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain.

JTR plans to run three EcoBoost Mygales, as it did in 2013, and team boss Nick Tandy says team members are excited at the prospect of working with the 25-year-old Kruger.

“We have been talking with Jayde for a while and came up with the same objectives and goals .

“He impressed us last year – he came into the championship mid-season and was straight on the pace.

“He rarely makes mistakes and with the technical expertise and experience JTR has of the new-generation Formula Ford we think we can have a successful relationship,” Tandy said.

JTR won 25 of last season’s 30 Formula Ford races, as Dan Cammish took the championship title for the Bedfordshire team.

JTR also won the championship in 2012, with Finnish driver Antti Buri.

“Obviously I’m really happy,” said Jayde. “When we heard that JTR were coming back to the championship it seemed like a no-brainer. They are the only team to have won an EcoBoost championship. Where else would you go?”

Formula Ford 2014 will fea-

ture 30 races at 10 rounds alongside the British Touring Car Championship.

– Staff reporter

today in print