AKA and Sho Madjozi to represent South Africa at the BET Awards

AKA and Sho Madjozi to represent South Africa at the BET Awards

AKA, Sho Madjozi and Monde Twala | Image: Twitter

If they win, they join the likes of 2face, D’banj, Wizkid, Sarkodie, Stonebwoy and DJ Black Coffee who have all previously taken home BET Awards.

Musicians AKA and Sho Madjozi will represent South Africa when they head to Los Angeles in June for the 2019 BET Awards.

This was announced in press conferences held simultaneously in Johannesburg and Lagos following the revelation of the nominees for the 2019 BET Awards which are set to take place at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles on 23 June and will premiere live across the continent on BET Africa (DStv channel 129) on Monday 24 June at 02:00 CAT and 20:00 CAT.

AKA will be going up against Nigerian musicians Burna Boy and Mr. Eazi as well as Dave and Giggs from the UK and Aya Nakamura and Dosseh from France in the Best International Act Award category.

Sho Madjozi, on the other hand, will need all the support she can get in the fan-voted category of Best New International Act where she’ll be facing off against Teniola Apata from Nigeria, Headie One and Octavian from the UK and France’s Jokair and Nesly.

The awards aim to celebrate the brightest stars across music, television, film, sports, and philanthropy.

BET will honour the Best International Act in-show, along with the viewer’s choice fan-voted category Best New International Act during the live red-carpet pre-show. The pre-show will be broadcast on BET Africa (DStv channel 129) from 00:00 CAT and 20:00 CAT.

“The BET Awards is a powerful platform for celebrating and elevating black excellence from around the world,” said Alex Okosi, Executive Vice President and Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa and BET International in a statement.

“We look forward to honouring this year’s Best International Act and Best New International Act during the BET Awards main and surround programming that will broadcast to a global audience,” he added.

Previous winners in the International Act category who have gone on to carve their names into African culture and become recognisable worldwide for their talent from Nigeria’s 2face and D’banj in 2011 to Wizkid in 2017, Ghana’s Sarkodie and Stonebwoy in 2012 and 2015 respectively and South Africa’s Black Coffee in 2016.

Last year globally acclaimed Davido emotionally received his BET, Best International Act, Award live on stage during the global broadcast of the show while South Africa’s Sjava, in traditional Zulu regalia, received his Best New International Act at the live red carpet show.

From the US, Cardi B leads the pack earning an impressive seven nominations, including ‘Best Female Hip Hop Artist,’ two separate nods in both the ‘Best Collaboration’ and ‘Video of the Year’ categories, ‘Album of the Year’ and the ‘Coca-Cola® Viewers’ Choice Award.’ Drake follows with five nods for ‘Best Male Hip Hop Artist,’ ‘Video of the Year,’ ‘Best Collaboration’ and the ‘Coca-Cola® Viewers’ Choice Award.’ Beyoncé, Travis Scott and J. Cole all scored four nominations each, while Bruno Mars, 21 Savage, Childish Gambino, H.E.R. and Ella Mai each received three nominations.

Cardi B | Image: Instagram

In its nineteenth year, the “BET AWARDS” continues its reign as the ultimate platform showcasing the best and most beautiful aspects of the Black experience – celebrating not only the present and future of Black music, but also elevating the culture and being a driving force for social change.

BET Networks recognizes artists, entertainers, and athletes across 20 categories with the 2019 “BET Awards” nominations. The nominations are selected by BET’s Voting Academy, which is comprised of fans and an esteemed group of entertainment professionals in the fields of television, film, music, social media, digital marketing, sports journalism, public relations, and the creative arts.

The 2019 BET Awards will be broadcast in partnership with Russian Bear and My Muze by Vodacom on Monday, 24 June 2019, starting with a pre-show on at 00:00 CAT, followed by the main awards show at 02:00 CAT and conclude with a post-show immediately after. The awards will also be broadcast at 20:00 CAT the same night.

Fans will be able to cast their vote for their favourite Best New International Act nominees beginning today on BET.com and on both Twitter and Instagram @BET_Africa @BET_TV_FR @BET_Intl using each artist’s designated hashtag.

The complete list of nominees for the 2019 BET AWARDS are:

Best International Act

  • Aka (South Africa)
  • Aya Nakamura (France)
  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  • Dave (Uk)
  • Dosseh (France)
  • Giggs (Uk)
  • Mr. Eazi (Nigeria)

Best New International Act – (Fan Voted Category)

  • Headie One (Uk)
  • Jokair (France)
  • Nesly (France)
  • Octavian (Uk)
  • Sho Madjodzi (South Africa)
  • Teniola Apata (Nigeria)

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

  • Beyoncé
  • Ella Mai
  • H.E.R.
  • Solange
  • Sza
  • Teyana Taylor

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

  • Anderson .Paak
  • Bruno Mars
  • Childish Gambino
  • Chris Brown
  • John Legend
  • Khalid

Best Group

  • Chloe X Halle
  • City Girls
  • Lil Baby & Gunna
  • Migos
  • The Carters

Best Collaboration

  • 21 Savage Ft. J. Cole – A Lot
  • Cardi B & Bruno Mars – Please Me
  • Cardi B Ft. Bad Bunny & J Balvin – I Like It
  • H.E.R. Ft. Bryson Tiller – Could’ve Been
  • Travis Scott Ft. Drake – Sicko Mode
  • Tyga Ft. Offset – Taste

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

  • 21 Savage
  • Drake
  • J. Cole
  • Meek Mill
  • Nipsey Hussle
  • Travis Scott

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

  • Cardi B
  • Kash Doll
  • Lizzo
  • Megan Thee Stallion
  • Nicki Minaj
  • Remy Ma

Video Of The Year

  • 21 Savage – A Lot Ft. J. Cole
  • Cardi B – Money
  • Cardi B & Bruno Mars – Please Me
  • Childish Gambino – This Is America
  • Drake – Nice For What
  • The Carters – Apes**T

Video Director Of The Year

  • Benny Boom
  • Colin Tilley
  • Dave Meyers
  • Hype Williams
  • Karena Evans

Best New Artist

  • Blueface
  • City Girls
  • Juice Wrld
  • Lil Baby
  • Queen Naija

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

  • Erica Campbell Ft. Warryn Campbell – All Of My Life
  • Fred Hammond – Tell Me Where It Hurts
  • Kirk Franklin – Love Theory
  • Snoop Dogg Ft. Rance Allen – Blessing Me Again
  • Tori Kelly Ft. Kirk Franklin – Never Alone

Best Actress

  • Issa Rae
  • Regina Hall
  • Regina King
  • Taraji P. Henson
  • Tiffany Haddish
  • Viola Davis

Best Actor

  • Anthony Anderson
  • Chadwick Boseman
  • Denzel Washington
  • Mahershala Ali
  • Michael B. Jordan
  • Omari Hardwick

Youngstars Award

  • Caleb Mclaughlin
  • Lyric Ross
  • Marsai Martin
  • Michael Rainey Jr.
  • Miles Brown

Best Movie

  • Blackkklansman
  • Creed 2
  • If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Spider-man: Into The Spider-verse
  • The Hate U Give

Sportswoman Of The Year

  • Allyson Felix
  • Candace Parker
  • Naomi Osaka
  • Serena Williams
  • Simone Biles

Sportsman Of The Year

  • Kevin Durant
  • Lebron James
  • Odell Beckham Jr.
  • Stephen Curry
  • Tiger Woods

Album Of The Year

  • Astroworld – Travis Scott
  • Championships – Meek Mill
  • Ella Mai – Ella Mai
  • Everything Is Love – The Carters
  • Invasion Of Privacy – Cardi B

2019 Coca-cola Viewers’ Choice Award

  • Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin – I Like It
  • Childish Gambino – This Is America
  • Drake – In My Feelings
  • Ella Mai – Trip
  • J. Cole – Middle Child
  • Travis Scott Ft. Drake – Sicko Mode

Bet Her Award

  • Alicia Keys – Raise A Man
  • Ciara – Level Up
  • H.E.R. – Hard Place
  • Janelle Monáe – Pynk
  • Queen Naija – Mama’s Hand
  • Teyana Taylor – Rose In Harlem

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.




today in print