SAMAs: The winners, the celebs, the gossip

Shekhinah took home three awards at the 24th SAMAs. Pic: Provided.

Shekhinah took home three awards at the 24th SAMAs. Pic: Provided.

The second night of the 24th South African Music Awards (SAMAs) was a star-studded affair. Even President Cyril Ramaphosa was there, alongside Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa. 

Shekhinah, who took away the album of the year, female artist of the year and newcomer of the year awards, was the biggest winner of the night, matching the amount of awards won by Sun-El Musician the previous night.

Kwesta was snubbed at this year’s SAMAs.

Kwesta, on the the other hand, was snubbed, losing out on the two categories he was nominated in. He was seen as a favourite in both. “It would’ve been great to win, just ask any artist. As much as it doesn’t define why we make the music, a pat on the back would be great,” he said.

The awards this year were hardly a straight forward affair due to controversy involving two disqualifications. Newcomer Sand was chopped from Record of the Year due to being from Swaziland while Port Elizabeth house DJ Mobi Dixon was disqualified because he was nominated for a remix of an international song.

Channel24 also reported that art was stolen at this years awards. No further details were given.

Skolopad with Dr Malinga at the SAMAs. Picture: Twitter

As for the gossip, Skolopad, dressed in a risqué black ‘dress’, had to be carried out of the venue on a stretcher after passing out, allegedly from exhaustion, although some have speculated that alcohol may also have been a factor.

Host Somizi had the crowd laughing, taking shots at a number of celebs, while co-hosts Dineo Ranaka and Mpho Popps also held their own.

Here is a list of the winners this year:

Best Selling Digital Artists

Joyous Celebration

Highest Airplay Special Composer Winner Package

Sun-El Musician ft Samthing Soweto

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Andile Kamajola for Andile Kamajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele

Best African Indigenous Gospel Album

Vuma Zion for Samson Aphi Amandla Akho

Best Kwaito Album

Busiswa for Highly Flavoured

Best Afro Pop Album

Mafikizolo for 20

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album

Jo Black for Skepe

Best Pop Album

Tresor for The Beautiful Madness

Lifetime Achiever Award recipients

Spokes H, Steve Kekana and Mbongeni Ngema

International Achiever Award

Shashika Mooruth

Best Rock Album

Fokofpolisiekar for Selfmedikasie

The Best Hip Hop Album

Shane Eagle for Yellow

Best Dance Album

Lady Zamar for King Zamar

Best Maskandi

Abafana Baka Mgqumeni for 6 to 6

Newcomer of the Year


Duo/Group of the Year


Female Artist of the Year


Male Artist of the Year

Prince Kaybee

Album of the Year

Shekhinah for Rose Gold

Record of the Year

Distruction Boyz FT Benny Maverick & Dladla Mshunqisi for Omunye

today in print