4 minute read
3 Jun 2019
10:41 am

Sho Madjozi takes top awards at her first Samas


Here's the complete list of winners at this year's Samas.

Sho Madjozi. Picture: Instagram/ Sho Madjozi

Tsonga rapper Sho Madjozi cemented her place as one of Mzansi’s top artists, scooping two awards in coveted categories at the 25th South African Music Awards (SAMAS) in Sun City on Saturday night

It was an emotional moment for the Huku hitmaker when she scooped awards for female artist of the year and newcomer of the year at the swanky ceremony. This year marked Sho’s debut at the awards.

Other big winners of the night included Sjava who took home album of the year and best afro-pop album and DJ Black Coffee, who walked away with the male artist of the year and best collaboration.

Rapper Nasty C beat AKA and Emtee to the hip-hop album of the year award and also bagged the best-produced album trophy.

The prestigious record of the year went to Holley Rey for her track Deeper.

Fighting back tears

Sho struggled to fight back tears during her acceptance speech on Saturday night and thanked her mom as well as her team for believing in her dream

Sho also revealed that she was going through heartbreak while working on Limpopo Champions League.

In an interview just days before the awards, Sho told The Sowetan that she didn’t expect to have scooped for nominations at her first SAMAS.

“It’s crazy because you grow up and see the SAMAS, you just never think you will be in there. You kind of hope it can happen. That’s why I don’t want to stress too much about what ends up happening,” she said.

Tkzee, Mango Groove and late hip-hop star HHP were honoured with lifetime achievement awards.

Tear-jerking moment

It was another tear-jerking moment when HHP’s son, Leano, accepted the award on his late father’s behalf.

Hosts Bob Mabena, Melanie Bala, Khuli Chana, Mpho Popps and Nomzamo Mbatha held things down and had the audience well entertained.

Mzansi’s famous faces also pulled out all the stops on the red carpet.

TV personality LootLove stunned in a figure-hugging silver evening gown, while Kelly Khumalo shook things up with a dramatic pink gown and Skolopad had tongues wagging as usual with a sheer top that covered one of her boobs and covered the other.

Here’s a full list of the #SAMA25 winners

Best Adult Contemporary Album: Ard Matthews – Impossible Machines

Best African Adult Contemporary Album: Nathi- Iphupha Labantu

Best Alternative Album: Nakhane – You Will Not Die

Best R&b/soul Album: Zonke – L.o.v.e

Best Reggae Album: Black Dillinger – Mavara Is King

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album: We Will Worship – Seasons Volume 1

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album: Coenie De Villiers – Pure Coenie

Best Jazz Album: Bokani Dyer Trio – Neo Native Rest of Africa Award: Diamond Platinumz – a Boy From Tandale

Best Live Audio Visual Recording of the Year: Cassper Nyovest – Fill Up Orlando Stadium- Robin Kohl

Best Collaboration: Black Coffee Feat. David Guetta and Delilah Montagu

Music Video of the Year: Jeremy Loops – Gold by Robert Smith

Best Produced Album of the Year: Nasty C – Strings and Bling by Nsikayesizwe David Junior Ngcobo, Sipho Dlamini and Collin Gayle

Best Engineered Album of the Year: Vusi Nova – Manyan-nyan by Robin Walsh

Remix of the Year: Zakwe – Sebentin by Cassper Nyovest, Hhp, Blaklez, Kwesta and Musiholiq

Best Selling DVD: Joyous Celebration 22 All for You

Best Selling Artist: Joyous Celebration – Umoya Kulendawo Samro/capasso

Highest Airplay Composer’s Award: Lady Zamar –Collide Samro/capasso

Best Selling Digital Artist Composer’s Award: Joyous Celebration – Umoya Kulendawo Sampra

Highest Airplay of the Year Award: Lady Zamar –Collide

Best Traditional Faith Music Album: Spirit of Praise – Spirit of Praise Vol.7

Best African Indigenous Faith Music Album: Ithemba Le-africa – Sesiphunyukile

Best Traditional Album: Candy – Hupenyu Unenge Viri

Best Kwaito/gqom/amapiano Album: Spikiri – King Don Father

Best Afro Pop Album: Sjava – Umqhele

Beste Pop Album: Snotkop– Sous

Best Pop Album: Tresor – Nostalgia

Best Rock Album: Dan Patlansky – Perfection Kills

Best Hip Hop Album: Nasty C – Strings and Bling

Best Dance Album: Black Motion – Moya Wa Taola

Best Maskandi Album: Sgwebo Sentambo -Yekani Umona

Newcomer of the Year: Sho Madjozi – Limpopo Champions League

Duo or Group of the Year: Black Motion – Moya Wa Taola

Female Artist of the Year: Sho Madjozi – Limpopo Champions League

Male Artist of the Year: Black Coffee – Music Is King

Album of the Year: Sjava – Umqhele

Record of the Year: Holley Rey – Deeper

Lifetime Achievers Award: Tkzee, Mango Groove and HHP

This story initially appeared on All4Women

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.