Vodacom Durban July live stream: Catch all the action here

Jockey Pierre Strydom poses with the trophy after winning the Durban July horse race on July 2, 2016, in Durban, South Africa. - The Durban July horse race is the biggest horse racing event on the African continent and a high social event where South African celebrities dress up and watch the race. It attracts close to 55,000 spectators and bets are placed in excess of 30 million US dollars. (Photo by RAJESH JANTILAL / AFP)

It will be one of the most momentous Vodacom Durban July’s in the race’s long history. Catch all the Vodacom Durban July action right here!

The crown jewel in the country’s horse racing calendar will be very special this year, and not only in terms of the lack of spectators, but also in terms of the peculiarity of the runners on the track.

It will be one of the most momentous Vodacom Durban July’s in the race’s long history.

As usual, 18 brilliant horses will gallop down the Greyville track in pursuit of the biggest gong in South African horse racing – but, unlike in the previous 123 years, it will be eerily quiet.

UPDATE: Belgarion wins the 2020 Vodacom Durban July

The coronavirus pandemic means Saturday’s July will be contested behind closed doors – and almost a month later than originally planned.

Click here for betting tips and the inside scoop or follow the action, results, race reports and news as it unfolds below the live stream.

Please refresh this page if the live stream fails to load.


Race 1: 11:35 Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium Pinnacle Stakes – 1100m (Polytrack)

Winner: Chantyman (6), ridden by Grant van Niekerk for trainer Dennis Bosch. Official Result: 6-9-3-10


Race 2: 12:10 KZN Yearling Sales Million – 1300m (Turf)

Winner: Winter Stories (8), ridden by Muzi Yeni for trainer Weiho Marwing. Official Result: 8-4-3-9


Race 3: 12:45 Campanajo 2200 (Grade 3) – 2200m (Turf)

Winner: Sovereign Spirit (2), ridden by Grant van Niekerk for Candice Bass-Robinson. Official Result: 2-13-3-6


Race 4: 13:20 DSTV Gold Vase (Grade 3) – 3000m (Turf)

Winner: Dynasty’s Blossom (12), ridden by Warren Kennedy and trained by Brett Crawford. Official Result: 12-3-9-15


Race 5: 13:55 Zulu Kingdom Explorer Golden Slipper (Grade 2) – 1400m (Turf)

Winner: Love Bomb(4), ridden by Sean Veale and trained by Frank Robinson. Official Result: 4-1-8-10

Click here to read Mike Moon’s race report.


Race 6: 14:30 Durban Golden Horseshoe (Grade 2) – 1400m (Turf)

Winner: Nourbese (10), ridden by Stuart Randolph and trained by Corne Spies. Provisional Result: 10-9-4-6

Click here to read Mike Moon’s race report.


Race 7: 15:10 Vodacom Durban July – 2200m (Turf) – R 1 500 000

The winner of the 2020 Vodacom Durban July was Belgarion, trained by Justin Snaith and jockeyed by Richard Fourie.

Second was Got the Greenlight, third Do It Again, with Golden Ducat coming in fourth. Close behind was It’s My Turn (fifth) and Rainbow Bridge (sixth).

Official Result:  17-13-18-1-12-2

Race 8: 15:45 Jonsson Workwear Garden Province Stakes (Grade 1) – 1600m (Turf)

Winner: Temple Grafin (6), ridden by Keagan De Melo and trained bu Glen Kotzen. Official Result: 6-7-5-11


Click here to read Mike Moon’s race report.


Race 9: 16:20 Compendium Insurance Brokers Ethekwini Sprint – 1200m (Poly)

Winner: Gallic Princess (5), ridden by Gavin Lerena and trained by Candice Dawson. Provisional Result: 5-4-3-6

Race 10: 16:55  Hollywoodbets Thukela Handicap (listed) – 1600m (Turf)

Winner: Infamous Fox (2), ridden by Warren Kennedy and trained by Candice Dawson. Provisional Result: 2-7-9-13

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

today in print