Local News 19.5.2017 11:29 am

Chiefs boss congratulates Wits

Kaizer Chiefs chairman, Kaizer Motaung (Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix)

Kaizer Chiefs chairman, Kaizer Motaung (Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix)

Kaizer Chiefs chairman Kaizer Motaung has congratulated Bidvest Wits for winning the Absa Premiership title.

“Congratulations to the Clever Boys. Well done. They fought a good fight from the beginning, leading to this historic achievement,” Motaung told the club’s official website.

“This is indeed a momentous occasion in the history of the league and the club itself. It is a remarkable moment because Wits never won the league since their formation in 1921.

“Compliments to their chairman, Brian Joffe, and his management team for leading the Clever Boys to this immense glory. Coach Gavin Hunt and his technical team have done a marvelous job throughout the season to form Wits into a force to be reckoned with.”

READ: Komphela slams ‘embarrassing’ Chiefs

Motaung reserved a special praise for Wits coach Gavin Hunt and winger Daine Klate.

“I also wish to congratulate Gavin for scooping his fourth league title. That’s a fantastic achievement. I also shouldn’t forget to mention Daine Klate for collecting his sixth league championship medal.

“We will receive Wits at our last game of the 2016/2017 season. We will be gracious hosts and honour the occasion with dignity.”

Chiefs, who are currently fifth on log, will host the new champions at FNB Stadium on Saturday, May 27.

Would you like to place a soccer bet? Click here to get started in 3 easy steps.

To comment you need to be signed in to Facebook. Please do not comment by saying anything prejudiced.
We reserve the right to remove offensive comments.


Chiefs 1-0 Wits
Sundows 2-2 Highlands
Arrows 2-1 Pirates


psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Bidvest Wits 30 60
2 Sundowns 30 57
3 Cape Town City 30 55
4 Kaizer Chiefs 30 50
5 SuperSport United 30 48
6 Polokwane City 30 43
7 Maritzburg Utd 30 38
8 Arrows 30 38
9 Platinum Stars 30 37
10 Ajax Cape Town 30 36
11 Orlando Pirates 30 33
12 Bloemfontein Celtic 30 29
13 Chippa United 30 28
14 Free State Stars 30 28
15 Baroka FC 30 28
16 Highlands Park 30 27