Kleinhans and De Groot take top honours at MTB Challenge

Kleinhans and De Groot take top honours at MTB Challenge

Erik Kleinhans and Robyn De Groot claimed gold at the inaugural 60km Fedhealth MTB Challenge at the picturesque Meerendal Wine Estate on Sunday.

Kleinhans crossed the line first in the men’s race in a time of 2 hours 36 minutes and 41 seconds while De Groot was the leading women, clocking 3:00.35. “Winning close to home is always great,” said Kleinhans.

“I was excited when I heard that the Fedhealth MTB Challenge would take place at Meerendal. I really like the area and the racing here suits me well. I enjoyed the punchy climbs and the flowing single track. The route isn’t super technical, anyone can ride it, but of course it does become a bit more technical if you’re racing. Mountain biking is not all about racing, that is why the ISUZU MTB Festival is great. It’s a family affair. There is an event for every member of the family, while Meerendal has the best wines. The timing is perfect and the views on route are fantastic. I’ll definitely be back next year.”

Derrin Smith came in second, while Nicol Carstens finished third. According to De Groot, Stillwater Sports knows how to host great events.

“The Fedhealth MTB Challenge featured open trails and beautiful views. It’s a proper mountain bike race, so you do need to be fit to really enjoy it,” said De Groot.

“I would definitely recommend this race. It is soul candy for a mountain biker. It’s everything that a mountain biker can want and it includes activities for the entire family.”

Louise Ferreira came in second, while Diana Carolin finished third. Closing off a weekend of exceptional mountain biking, mountain bikers that were not yet comfortable with a 60km route could enter the less daunting 35km or the 15km.

Stian Pretorius claimed gold in the men’s 35kmin a time of 1:38.02. Pierre Goosen came in second, while Dawie Adlem finished third.

Allison Morton was the rider home in the women’s 35km with a finishing time of 2:06.28. Beaulah Buitendag came in second, while Charmaine Adams finished third.

Ryan Peter was the first rider to cross the finish line in the men’s 15km in a time of 36 minutes 11 seconds. Alec Coleské came in second, while Christiaan Badenhorst finished third.

Hannelle Smith claimed the top spot on the podium in the women’s 15km in a time of 45.11. Kate Rolfe came in second, while Emmerentia Nel finished third.




today in print

today in print