Basson wins Tour Durban cycle race title

Picture: ANA

Basson powered well clear at the finish at the Moses Mabhida stadium, ahead of Jason Oosthuisen (Barzani) and BCX’s multiple Tour Durban champion Nolan Hoffman.

Just days after winning the Tour de Limpopo Under-23 star of the ProTouch Sports team Gustav Basson added another major scalp to the team’s season by winning the 25th anniversary edition of the Tour Durban cycle race on Sunday.

Oosthuisen took second from Hoffman with another Barzani rider Tyler Day grabbing fourth.

“I was in the move but I was happy to just take it easy in the group and wait if I was needed to sprint, but I was happy to just wait for Reynard (Butler) for the finale,” said Basson.

“We ride as a team and we always have a few options, but depending on what happens during the race we have to take responsibility and try and win it for the team,” he added.

“The team is phenomenal,” he said. “We just ride as a unit. All the guys are great,” he said.

The women’s title fell to Demacon’s Kim le Court with Tiffany Keep right on her wheel and Demacon team captain Lynette Burger Pieterse following in a tight group of riders including teammate Carla Oberholtzer, and Michelle Benson, S’annara Grove and Stacey Paul.


100km Classic

1.Gustav Basson 2:13:52

2.James Oosthuisen 2:13:52

3.Nolan Hoffman 2:13:53

4.Tyler Day 2:13:53

5.Shameeg Salie 2:13:53

6.Marc Pritzen 2:13:53

7.David Maree 2:13:53

8.Reynard Butler 2:13:54

9.Jayde Julius 2:13:57

10.Bradley Potgieter 2:13:58


1.Kim le Court 2:44:12

2.Tiffany Keep 2:44:13

3.Lynette Burger Pieterse 2:44:30

4.Michelle Benson 2:44:30

5.Carla Oberholtzer 2:44:30

6.S’annara Grove 2:44:31

7.Stacey Paul 2:44:31

55km Cyclocross

1.Tyrone White 1:35:41

2.Andrew Johnson 1:35:43

3.Andrew Hill 1:35:43

4.Mboneni Ncgobo 1:35:54

5.Sanele Shabalala 1:35:54


1.Rouxda Grobler 1:52:58

2.Kirsten Evans 1:58:16

3.Paula Noah 1:58:17

4.Michelle Crichton 2:06:56

5.Helena Muir 2:07:01

45km Fun Ride

1.Chloe Bateson 1:11:43 (1st woman)

2.Jordan Bold 1:11:44

3.Jayden Moolman 1:11:44

4.Matt Gerry 1:11:45

5.James Behrmann 1:11:46 – African News Agency (ANA)

today in print