Stormers name four changes

FILE PICTURE:  Cheslin Kolbe of Stormers is tackled by JJ Engelbrecht of the Blue Bulls. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images)

FILE PICTURE: Cheslin Kolbe of Stormers is tackled by JJ Engelbrecht of the Blue Bulls. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images)

The Stormers coach Allister Coetzee on Thursday announced four changes to his run-on team for their final tour game against the Western Force in Perth on Saturday.

The Stormers have lost their opening two matches on tour to the Highlanders and the Hurricanes before bouncing back big time last weekend to outplay the defending champions the Waratahs in Sydney by the account of 32-18.

Up front lock Ruan Botha gets promoted from the bench to replace Manuel Carizza who has been ruled out after picking up a cut to his mouth last weekend against the Waratahs.

Jean Kleyn comes in for Botha on the bench.

On the flank Siya Kolisi replaces the injured Michael Rhodes who torn his hamstring last weekend and has since returned to Cape Town, while Schalk Burger moves over to the No 7 jumper after starting as openside flanker last weekend.

In the third change Coetzee made a rotational swift with Bongi Mbonambi getting a start replacing Scarra Ntubeni who gets a rest on the bench after being sensational thus far on tour.

In the only change in the backline Coetzee also rotated his No 9s with Louis Schreuder starting this weekend and Nic Groom required to make the impact from the bench.

The two new faces on the bench are prop Ali Vermaak and loose forward Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who replaced the injured Rhodes on tour and effectively occupies the vacancy left by Kolisi’s promotion to the starting lineup.

At flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis has been retained after recovering from a minor concussion scare last weekend and even though Kurt Coleman provided the spark last weekend after replacing Catrakilis he will again make his influence count from the bench.

The Stormers and the Western Force have met on four previous occasions in Perth, with the Men from the Cape tasting victory three times and losing by one point in 2010.

Overall, these two sides have come up against each other in eight Super Rugby matches, with the Stormers winning six times and losing twice.

STORMERS: 15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (capt), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Dillyn Leyds, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain), 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Steven Kitshoff
Bench:16. Scarra Ntubeni, 17. Ali Vermaak, 18. Vincent Koch, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21. Nic Groom, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Huw Jones.




today in print

today in print