Lions name team for WP clash

Anthony Volmink of the Lions during the Absa Currie Cup rugby match between the Lions and Western Province at Ellis Park, Johannesburg, on 30 August 2013 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

Golden Lions head coach Johan Ackermann named his 22-man side to take on Western Province at Newlands on Saturday.

In the forwards, Willie Britz and Warwick Tecklenburg move up into the starting line-up, joining Derick Minnie in the loose trio.

Minnie will captain the team.

Meanwhile, in the backline, Ackermann has opted for consistency, selecting the same group which beat the Eastern Province Kings 60-19 at Ellis Park last Saturday.

Lions team: Andries Coetzee, Lionel Mapoe, Stokkies Hanekom, Harold Vorster, Ruan Combrinck, Jaco van der Walt, Ross Cronje, Willie Britz, Warwick Tecklenburg, Derick Minnie (captain), Franco Mostert, MB Lusaseni, Ruan Dreyer, Robbie Coetzee, Schalk van der Merwe.

Replacements: Armand van der Merwe, Jacques van Rooyen, Martin Muller, Jaco Kriel, Guy Cronje, Kwagga Smith, Howard Mnisi.


today in print