Premium Journalist
1 minute read
12 Aug 2015
1:41 pm

Cheetahs make five changes


The Cheetahs have made five changes to their team to face Western Province in their Currie Cup match at Newlands on Saturday.

Cheetahs coach, Naka Drotske. Picture: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images.

The Cheetahs lost 57-19 to the Bulls in Bloemfontein last week, and coach Franco Smith has rung the changes as a result.

At flyhalf, Fred Zelinga makes a start with Niel Marais dropping out of the match 22. At 15, AJ Coertzen comes in for Coenie van Wyk.

In the pack, hooker Jacques du Toit replaces Niel Raubenheimer while at lock Armandt Koster starts ahead of Willem Serfontein. At number eight, Neil Jordaan replaces Gerhard Olivier.

Among the replacements, Elandre Hugget, Tertius Kruger and Sias Ebersohn have been included.

Free State Cheetahs team: 15 AJ Coertzen, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Boom Prinsloo, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Armandt Koster, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen. Replacements: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Maks van Dyk, 18 Reniel Hugo, 19 Gerhard Olivier, 20 Zee Mkabela, 21 Tertius Kruger, 22 Sias Ebersohn