1 minute read
20 Mar 2014
8:51 am

Sharks unchanged for Loftus trip

The Sharks have named an unchanged starting XV for their Super Rugby trip to Loftus Versfeld where they will play the Bulls on Saturday.

FILE PICTURE: Jack White. Picture: Steve Haag / Gallo Images.

Director of rugby Jake White has continued his policy of sticking with continuity with the only changes coming on the bench, where uncapped pair Tim Swiel and Andre Esterhuizen have been named.

They come in at the expense of Heimar Williams and Jaco van Tonder with still no sign of last season’s captain, Keegan Daniel.

Springbok centre JP Pietersen will join a select group of players when he wins his 100th cap in Pretoria.

“It is a big achievement for a guy that plays 100 times for his franchise,” White said.

“I have no doubt that it’s not only what he brings on the field, but also what he brings to the rest of the group off the field.

“I’m sure it will be a special occasion for him. I have no doubt JP, being as popular a player as he is to this group, a lot of the players will want to do well for him as well.”

The Sharks currently top the overall standings with four wins from four, while the Bulls are sixth after winning twice, also after four appearances.

Sharks team: SP Marais, JP Pietersen, S’bura Sithole, Frans Steyn, Lwazi Mvovo, Patrick Lambie, Cobus Reinach, Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Stephan Lewies, Anton Bresler, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Kyle Cooper, Dale Chadwick, Lourens Adriaanse, Etienne Oosthuizen, Tera Mtembu, Charl McLeod, Tim Swiel, Andre Esterhuizen.