Premium Journalist
1 minute read
8 Feb 2017
12:45 pm

Selectors keep faith in Proteas group for New Zealand


Cobras quick Dane Paterson is the only addition to a squad that is hammering Sri Lanka in the current ODI series.

Dane Paterson is the only surprise inclusion in the Proteas XI. Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images.

The Proteas have retained the 14-man squad that won the one-day Series against Sri Lanka for the limited overs portion of the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

It will consist of one T20 International match and five ODI matches.

Also read: Record ODI score never crossed my mind, says Faf du Plessis

They have, however, added Dane Paterson to the squad as cover for Dwaine Pretorius for the T20 International as well as the first ODI.

Pretorius will miss these two matches to be at home with his wife who is expecting their first child.

Paterson made his Proteas debut in the T20 International series against Sri Lanka but has yet to be capped in the 50-over format.

“Dane will travel with the squad when they leave on Saturday and will return to South Africa once Dwaine joins the squad,” said Linda Zondi, the national selection convenor.

“We, as selectors are very happy with the way the squad has jelled over the past 6 months and consistency in selection is very important as we continue our build-up towards the ICC Champions Trophy tournament.

“New Zealand are playing very good cricket at the moment and as always will provide very tough opposition, particularly under their home conditions.”

Zondi confirmed that Lungi Ngidi had not recovered fully from his injury to be considered but that David Miller was fully fit to travel.

Proteas ODI squad: AB de Villiers (c), Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.

For more sport your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.