1 minute read
28 Nov 2014
2:56 pm

Hougaard, Hendricks nominated for IRPA try of the year

South Africa's Francois Hougaard and Cornal Hendricks were on Friday named among the five nominees for the International Rugby Players' Association (IRPA) Try of the Year.

FILE PICTURE: Francois Hougaard (front) and Cornal Hendricks stretch. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Gallo Images)

Welshman Jamie Roberts, Canada’s IRB Women’s Player of the Year Magali Harvey and England’s Jonny May were also shortlisted for the award.

The tries were selected by a panel comprising Samoa’s Seilala Mapusua, All Black Jeff Wilson, Ireland’s Alan Quinlan and Dan Parks of Scotland.

In support of the initial nomination process, fans had the chance to have their say on the shortlist via social media. The results of the public vote would be considered by the panel when finalising the winner.

“These players have all given enormous enjoyment to fans around the world with their skill,” World Rugby chairman Bernard Lapasset said.

“These tries are testament to rugby’s character-building values of teamwork and enjoyment and I am looking forward to seeing the result of the fan voting.”

Hendricks marked his Springbok debut with a try in the first Test against Wales in June. It came after Willie le Roux drew defenders to him before spreading the ball wide to the right for the wing to dot down.

Hougaard, meanwhile, brought the Ellis Park crowd to its feet when he dived under the posts to finish off a move which had begun deep in South Africa’s half. It involved all of the backline as the Springboks ended a losing run against New Zealand with a 27-25 win in the Rugby Championship, in October.

Previous winners:

2013 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

2012 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)

2011 – Radike Samo (Australia)

2010 – Chris Ashton (England)

2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa)

2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)

– Sapa