3 minute read
4 Jun 2014
1:43 pm

Aiden Markram the big winner at CSA amateur awards

Aiden Markram was named the Cricket SA's under-19 Cricketer of the Year at the sixth annual amateur awards ceremony in Johannesburg on Wednesday morning.

Aiden Markram with his two Trophies during the Cricket SA Awards Breakfast and Golf Day at Killarney Country Club on June 04, 2014 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Duif du Toit/Gallo Images)

The awards breakfast, where the stars of amateur cricket are honoured, commemorated Markram’s achievements, following his performances in the South Africa under-19 squad that won the ICC under-19 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates earlier this year.

Markram was named Player of the Tournament for the World Cup and helped the Baby Proteas remain unbeaten throughout, skippering the team in the process.

He scored a tournament best 370 runs at an average of 123.

The opening batsman scored two centuries, 120 (not out) and 105 against Zimbabwe and Afghanistan respectively, before scoring the 66 runs that led to South Africa’s triumph against Pakistan in the final.

The youngster continued his good form when he returned home from the World Cup, playing an instrumental role in the University of Pretoria’s (TUKS) third consecutive National Club Championships title victory, where he went on to be named Player of the Tournament.

“I’m actually quite shocked at these awards,” Markram said.

“I never dreamed that this past year would work out this way. I’m so happy to have been able to give our country something to be proud of.

“There is no way I would have been able to accomplish anything without my teammates, coaches and parents. I want to thank them for everything they have done for me. I only hope that I can continue to do good things for the country.”

In other awards, rising star Andile Phehlukwayo received the under-17 Player of the Tournament honours for his stellar performances this past season, while Sune Luus accepted the Girls under-19 Player of the Tournament for the second time, her first award came in 2012.

“It’s been such an exciting season for me,” Luus said.

“There has been a lot of growing and hard work and none of that would have happened without the great support system that I have which includes my parents, coaches and teammates, both national and domestic.”

Luus has cemented her place in the Proteas Women’s squad that also made history when they qualified for the semifinals of the ICC Women’s World T20 in Bangladesh.

Other winners included Clyde Fortuin, who received the prestigious Khaya Majola Week, Player of the Tournament award.

Heinrich Klaasen won the CSA Student Cricketer of the Year award, while Monty Jacobs accepted the newly-introduced Franchise Semi-Professional Coach of the Year award.

It was also a big year for the CSA Provincial Cricket setup.

Ross McMillan was named the Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year, while Devon Conway and Keegan Petersen accepted the CSA Provincial One-Day and Three-Day Cricketer of the Year awards respectively.

CSA amateur awards:

  • CSA under-15 Player of the Tournament: Dean Foxcroft
  • CSA under-17 Player of the Tournament: Andile Phehlukwayo
  • CSA Girls under-19 Player of the Tournament: Sune Luus
  • Khaya Majola under-19 Player of the Tournament: Clyde Fortuin
  • CSA under-19 Cricketer of the Year: Aiden Markram
  • CSA Student Cricketer of the Year: Heinrich Klaasen
  • National Club Championships Player of the Tournament: Aiden Markram
  • Franchise Semi-Professional Coach of the Year: Monty Jacobs
  • CSA Rural Cricketer of the Year: Ferisco Adams
  • CSA Blind Cricketer of the Year: Desigan Pillay
  • CSA Deaf Cricketer of the Year: Reinhardt Limbacht
  • CSA Intellectually Impaired Cricketer of the Year: Papama Mtana
  • CSA Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the Year: Keegan Petersen
  • CSA Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Year: Devon Conway
  • CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year: Ross McMillan
  • Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year: Nokuzola Javu