1 minute read
6 Oct 2014
1:48 pm

Bafana camp nearly at full strength – Barney Kujane

Bafana Bafana team manager Barney Kujane says preparations are going smoothly ahead of the national team's 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Congo-Brazzaville over the weekend.

FILE PICTURE: Barney Kujane (Bafana Bafana team manager) during the Bafana Bafana press conference at SAFA House on June 27, 2013 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

wenty players have already reported for camp in Rustenburg, while the remaining five will arrive before the end of the day.

South Africa take on Congo in Pointe-Noir on Saturday before returning to South Africa for the return fixture four days later in Polokwane.

“Logistics and plans for this camp have been going according to our plans,” Kujane said on Monday morning.

“Most of the players arrived yesterday [Sunday]. It’s been a fantastic camp so far and things are going very well.”

The overseas-based pair of Tokelo Rantie and Dean Furman had already arrived in the country on Monday morning. They were on their way from Johannesburg to Rustenburg, where coach Shakes Mashaba would spend the next three days to prepare for the trip to West Africa.

Meanwhile, Andile Jali, Anele Ngcongca and Thulani Serero were expected to arrive on Monday at 9.30pm.

Team doctor Thulani Ngwenya confirmed that Ayabulela Magqwaka had not reported to camp and was ruled out with injury.

The youngster suffered a calf strain playing for club side Ajax Cape Town and the national team decided to leave the defender behind due to the severity of the injury.

Mashaba said he would not call up a replacement.

Bafana depart on Thursday afternoon on a chartered flight for Point-Noire.

South Africa squad to travel to Congo-Brazzaville:

Goalkeepers: Senzo Meyiwa, Darren Keet, Dumisani Msibi.

Defenders: Anele Ngcongca, Sibusiso Khumalo, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Kwanda Mngonyama, Erick Mathoho, Thabo Matlaba, Rivaldo Coetzee, Tefu Mashamaite.

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Themba Zwane, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Oupa Manyisa, Dean Furman, Thulani Serero, Mandla Masango, Keagan Dolly, Reneilwe Letsholonyane.

Strikers: Tokelo Rantie, Bongani Ndulula, Kermit Erasmus, David Zulu, Fagrie Lakay.

– Sapa