Committee on gender equality recommends commissioner candidates

Keketso Maema, CEO Commission for Gender Equality discusses the importance of pushing for transformation within businesses. Photo: Laura Pisanello

The list will be sent to President Ramaphosa for consideration of appointment in accordance with the Constitution.

The Ad Hoc Committee to identify suitable candidates for the filling of vacancies at the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE) met to recommend candidates that will serve as Commissioners in the CGE.

In a statement on Friday, the committee said, having deliberated on the candidates, it has adopted the final report with 10 recommended names for the filling of eight vacancies in the CGE.

Candidates recommended for appointment as Commissioners in the Commission for Gender Equality, include; Lindiwe Octavia Ntuli-Tloubatla, Jennifer Smout, Mbuyiselo Botha, Dr. Tlaleng Mofokeng, O’hara Ngoma-Diseko, Nomasonto Grace Mazibuko, Dibeela Gertrude Mothupi, non-binary Busisiwe Deyi, adv Bhekizenzo Tembe, and Priscilla Lynnette Fundisile Nzimande.

The committee said all the shortlisted candidates underwent a rigorous process of interviews, verification of qualifications, and security screening.

The statement released by the parliamentary communication services on behalf of the committee chairperson, Nonhlanhla Ncube-Ndaba, said: “The criteria used by the committee to select the candidates during the interview process included motivation, problem-solving skills to address conflict management, teamwork, experience on gender issues, interpersonal skills, technical knowledge, strategic leadership, innovation and governance.”

She thanked the members of the committee for working together in ensuring the success of the filling of vacancies in the CGE.

“We are confident that all the recommended candidates are South African citizens and they are fit and proper to serve as commissioners,” said Ncube-Ndaba.

The candidates recommended by the committee will be tabled in the National Assembly for debate and final adoption. Subsequently, the list will be sent to President Cyril Ramaphosa for consideration of appointment in accordance with the Constitution and the Commission for Gender Equality Act.

– African News Agency

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

today in print

today in print