ANA Reporter
Premium Journalist
1 minute read
8 Jun 2015
10:18 am

ANC congratulates new Youth League leaders

ANA Reporter

The African National Congress (ANC) in KwaZulu-Natal on Monday congratulated the newly elected leadership of the ANC Youth League in the province.

National Executive member in the ANC Nathi Mthethwa on the left speaking to newly elected provincial chairperson of the ANC youth league in KwaZulu-Natal Thami Ngubane at the provincial conference held in the Ugu sports and leasure in Port Shepstone south coast of KZN Picture Phumlani Thabethe Date 07 June 2015

On Sunday, Thami Ngubane was elected as the chairperson, Kwazi Mshengu as deputy chairperson, Thanduxolo Sabela as provincial secretary, Sibongile Khathi as deputy secretary and Siyabonga Nene as treasurer.

Spokesman Sicelo Khuzwayo said the new leadership was elected after a two-day conference was concluded on Sunday afternoon in Port Shepstone.

ANC National Executive Committee member Nathi Mthethwa congratulated the newly elected leadership and encouraged the league to always have a program of action and champion the needs of young people.

“ANC Youth League has always been about raising views within the structures and we encourage robust debates. Young people should always have views that will take the ANC and this country forward”, Mthethwa said in a statement.

Mthethwa said the first task of the newly elected leadership was to unite this province and make sure that the youth wing was united and worked towards building solid foundation. He cautioned the leaders about temptation of wanting to be bigger than the ANC and said the the organisation was bigger than all its members and does not belong to individuals.

The conference that was attended by national and provincial leadership.