Western Cape by-elections candidates announced

FILE PICTURE:  People cast their vote. Picture: Michel Bega

FILE PICTURE: People cast their vote. Picture: Michel Bega

The names of candidates nominated for upcoming by-elections in the Western Cape were announced on Friday.

The African National Congress and Democratic Alliance confirmed the nominations of the candidates, despite the Independent Electoral Commission of SA’s (IEC) decision to only publish the official list on November 13.

Four wards would be contested on November 26, one in the Theewaterskloof and three in the Greater Hermanus area. The Greater Hermanus by-elections follow the death of an ANC councillor in Zwehile, Hermanus, and the resignation of two DA councillors.

Merencia Gillian, ANC MPL for the Overberg, said the party remained critical about the IEC’s role in Ward 11.

“We still believe there are more than 600 voters that are registered to vote in Ward 11 but who are not living there,” said Gillian.

“We plan to negotiate with the IEC and the DA to exclude those 600 voters.”

The Ward 11 candidates are: Lydia Matomela, DA; Enrico Oosthuizen, ANC; and Majelo Simbongile, UDM. This was the first time the UDM participated in a by-election in this ward.

The Ward 11 by-election was triggered by the resignation of DA councillor Mark Mathews.

Dudley Coetzee, DA regional organiser for the Greater Hermanus area said his party nominated David Botha, a retired engineer and former executive director of the SA Institution of Civil Engineering, as the candidate for Ward 7, Sandbaai.

Themba Tebele, ANC regional secretary, said the ward would not be contested as the DA’s margin of victory in the previous election was too high.

Coetzee gave the same reason for the DA not nominating anyone for Ward 5,

Zwehile, as the ANC’s victory in the previous election had been too great to justify the opposition party’s participation.

Tebele said Sicelo Gxamesi, a deputy president of the SA Students Congress, would represent the ANC against the Economic Freedom Fighters’ Samuel Nywhebe, a taxi owner and driver. It was the first time the ANC would have to contest a ward against the EFF in this area, Tebele said.

The candidates for Ward 2, Gansbaai, are Riana de Coning, DA, and Juan Lewis, ANC.


today in print