1 minute read
30 Sep 2014
4:11 pm

Naledi Pandor appoints National Advisory Council on Innovation

Nineteen new members of the National Advisory Council on Innovation (NACI) were appointed by Science and Technology Minister Naledi Pandor on Tuesday.

FILE PICTURE: The Minister of Science and Technology Naledi Pandor. Picture: Christine Vermooten

“I am pleased with the calibre of the council members and the wealth of knowledge and expertise that they bring to this institution, which is a key priority for government,” Pandor said in a statement.

The NACI advises the minister on the role and contribution of science, mathematics, innovation and technology in the country’s social and economic development, she said.

The council’s outgoing chairman Dr Steve Lennon, would be replaced by University of Pretoria vice chancellor Cheryl de la Rey.

The council members are:

> Prof Cheryl de la Rey

> Prof Anton Eberhard

> Advocate Louisa Zondo

> Dr Azar Jammine

> Dr Shadrack Moephuli

> Dr Andile Ngcaba

> Prof Olive Shisana

> Dr Sibusiso Sibisi

> Dr Albert van Jaarsveld

> Dhesigen Naidoo

> Kevin Nassiep

> Garth Strachan

> Sim Tshabalala

> Clare Busetti

> Zanele Monnakgotla

> Nonkululeko Nyembezi-Heita

> Prof Roseanne Diab

> Prof Glenda Gray

> Prof Jennifer Ann Thomson