1 minute read
4 Jun 2014
7:42 am

Names of dead correctional officers released

The names have been released of five correctional services officers who were killed when their car collided head-on with a police vehicle in the North West, the justice and correctional services ministry said on Tuesday.

Accident stock image courtesy stock.xchng

The correctional officers were stationed at Rooigrond Correctional Centre.

Their names are Johannes Kanono Moruledi, Tiisetso Morris Motsamayi, Charles Rantlwana Sekgobela, Luncedo Ebenezer Tshangala and Simon Mosue Lesejane.

“A joint team of social workers and psychologists from the departments of health and correctional services began counselling sessions for the affected officials and family members today,” said spokesman Lawrence Ngoveni.

“The acting national commissioner of correctional services, Ms Nontsikelelo Jolingana, will lead a high level entourage to the accident site to lay a wreath and proceed to address a memorial service to be held at the Rooigrond Correctional Centre on Thursday 5 June 2014 at 10am.”

The accident happened around five kilometres outside the Rooigrond correctional centre on the R501, near Mahikeng, around 3pm on Monday afternoon.

“A car carrying five correctional officials had a head-on collision with a… police car, leaving the six officials… dead, five of them on the accident scene while the sixth was declared dead on arrival at hospital,” Ngoveni said in a statement.

“The police car driver was alone and died on the spot,” he said.