Tlakula hands over MPs list

Adv Pansy Tlakula the Chairperson of the Independent Electoral Commission, 16 May 2014 at the ceremony held at Constitution Hill to mark the handover of the lists of names of representatives in the legislatures to the Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng. Picture: Valentina Nicol

Dozens of people were at Constitutional Hill in Braamfontein, Johannesburg, yesterday to witness another development leading to the start of South Africa’s fifth term of democratic government.

The focus of the event was the list of names of people who will represent political parties in the provincial and national parliaments.

Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) spokesperson Pansy Tlakula handed the list to Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng. This was preceded by formal addresses by Tlakula and Mogoeng.

Both emphasised the importance of the list to the country’s democracy, as well as the fifth general elections held on May 7.

While delivering his address, Mogoeng was not always in se-rious mood, saying one of his colleagues had crossed the floor to another sector.

The occasion was expected to be graced by many people across the political spectrum, but none of the notable figures turned up. Those present included Judge President Dunstan Mlambo, secretary of Parliament Baby Tyawa, and the IEC’s chief electoral officer, Mosotho Moepya.

Enjoyment took centre stage after the formal proceedings, as journalists interacted with the public figures.

Tlakula appeared to be in a jovial mood, despite the court case pending against her in which a multiparty forum of five opposition parties demand her resignation.

The parties want the court to recommend to Parliament that Tlakula be removed as IEC chairperson for alleged misconduct related to the R320 million lease for the IEC headquarters building.

The matter will be heard in the Electoral Court on June 2.

today in print

today in print