1 minute read
26 Mar 2014
10:48 am

Candidate lists for 2014 elections available this Friday

Lists of candidates for the May 7 general election will be available for public inspection from Friday, the Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said.

FILE PICTURE: Helen Zille leader of the DA speaks to Mpho Ramakatsa of the EFF before the Signing of the Electoral Code of Conduct by all political parties contesting the 2014 elections, 19 March 2014, Gallagher Convention Centre, Midrand. Picture: Tracy Lee Stark

“The comprehensive list including all supporting documentation will be available for inspection at the IEC head office in Centurion during office hours on Friday 28 March, Monday 31 March, and Tuesday April 1,” said IEC spokeswoman Kate Bapela in a statement.

A total of 29 parties will contest the May 7 general elections.

party support_web

“This is four fewer than the 33 parties which had provisionally indicated their intention to contest the national election… but it remains the highest number of parties to contest a democratic national election in South Africa’s history,” she said.

Bapela said four political parties were removed from the ballot paper after they failed to pay the required election deposit.

The parties removed were — Africa Unite Party, Dagga Party, Lekgotla for Democracy Advancement, and the SA Progressive Civil Organisation.