Axed ministers’ names removed from parliamentary website

Former finance minister Pravin Gordhan. Picture: Supplied

Former finance minister Pravin Gordhan. Picture: Supplied

The only resignation received from an MP so far is that of the former minister of transport.

As news of the resignation of former Transport Minister Dipuo Peters from parliament emerged on Wednesday, the names of other ministers and deputy ministers axed in last week’s sweeping reshuffle by President Jacob Zuma disappeared from the list of MPs in the National Assembly on the parliamentary website.

Parliament’s spokesperson Moloto Mothapo told African News Agency (ANA) it was a technical oversight.

“During the updating of their titles following the reshuffle, they may have been removed,” Mothapo said.

“It’s a technical matter. It’s a matter we are correcting.”

ANC chief whip Jackson Mthembu’s office confirmed that the only resignation they received so far was that of Peters.

– African News Agency

Dipuo Peters quits as ANC MP

For more news your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.


today in print