Motlanthe commission on Zim election violence sworn-in

Former President of South Africa Kgalema Motlanthe sits during speeches to uMkhonto We Sizwe Sizwe (MK) members at Nasrec, Johannesburg on 6 October 2017. The MK members are attending a two day all inclusive Veterans’ National Conference. Picture: Yeshiel Panchia

The inquiry has three months to execute its mandate.

Zimbabwean President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Wednesday sworn into office a seven-member commission of inquiry to look into the August 1 post-election violence which resulted in the death of at least seven people after members of the military fired live ammunition into crowded Harare streets.

Headed by former South African President Kgalema Motlanthe, the commission took the oath of office at State House in the capital.

Soon after the swearing-in ceremony, the commission of inquiry went into a briefing with Mnangagwa and his two vice presidents.

The commission is made up of four international members and three locals.

International commissioners include the chair Rodney Dixon, from the United Kingdom; former Commonwealth secretary-general, Nigeria’s Chief Emeka Anyaoku and former Chief of Tanzania’s Defence Forces, General Davis Mwamunyange.

Local members are University of Zimbabwe’s trio of Charity Manyeruke and Lovemore Madhuku as well as Vimbai Nyemba.

The duty of the commission is to identify the motive of the August 1 violent attacks, leaders behind the attack and investigate the circumstances surrounding the deployment of the army and also to ascertain whether the force used was consistent with the situation at hand.

The commission has three months to execute its mandate.

The Motlanthe-led commission is also expected to make recommendations to Mnangagwa, who is seeking to mend a deeply polarised and divided country.

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

today in print

today in print