Noisy, fast Sports and V8 racing

FIGHTER. Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar) will fight for victories in the GT V8 category. Picture:

FIGHTER. Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar) will fight for victories in the GT V8 category. Picture:

This year’s South African Sports and GT championship series has provided large grids with noisy and spectacular racing and surprising results.

Saturday’s two races at Phakisa should be no exception. Currently heading up the GT Car title log is old timer Ben Morgenrood in his IndyOil Ford Mustang. He has been relentlessly consistent this year scoring half the available race victories and championship points in the remaining half.

Taking him on at Phakisa and hoping to take advantage from any mistakes will be the likes of Larry Wilford (Fuchs Chev Corvette), Terry Wilford (Fuchs Ford Mustang) and Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar).

Further back and heading up the mid-field battle will be drivers like Darron Gudzman (Country Range Corvette), Romano Sartori (AMC Ford Mustang), Jody van Zummerin (Border Towing Corvette) and Ray Wilford in the Fuchs Chev Corvette.

Defending South African champion Rui Campos (Hollard Shelby) tops the Sports Car championship chase with youngster Ferdi van Niekerk (Motorola Cordless Shelby) close on his heels. Both drivers will hope to mix it with the front running GT cars at Phakisa and the twisty infield will suit the V6 engined Sports cars better than the hugely powerful V8 tin tops.

Other Sports Car drivers to watch include Alan Eve (Pilot Pens Shelby), Brian Algar (POLO Shelby), Andrew Strike (Strike One Shelby) and Hanno Pengilly (Shelby CanAm).

The Formula Volkswagen contingent, with 10 of the winged and slick-tyred cars entered, should match the Sports car and GT contingent for pace around Phakisa. Robert Wolk should win both times in his Midas FVW but will be challenged by Werner Scholtz (Motorvia FVW), Nicholas van Weely (Anglo Rand FVW), Christopher Shorter (Formula VW) and Rui Campos (Hollard FVW).

Brothers Keegan and Jason Campos currently lead the Formula 1600 title chase in their Etana Mygale entries. They are marginally ahead of James Temple (Ferodo Mygale).

Veteran George Ferreira tops the Zetec class in his GF Plastics Mygale, with his closest opponents Rick Morris (Investchem Mygale), Dillon Miller (BF Strategy Mygale) and Matthew Miller (Lovel Gallery Mygale).



today in print

today in print