

Media Release

Voter Registration this weekend for wards to be contested in Municipal By-Elections on 10 April 2019

Voter registration will be held this weekend for three municipal ward by-elections scheduled to take place in the Eastern Cape, Northern Cape and Western Cape provinces on **Wednesday**, **10 April 2019**.

Voting stations in the wards listed below will be open this **Saturday**, **26 January**, **and Sunday**, **27 January**, **from 08h00 to 17h00** to allow all eligible voters to register and for current voters to check their registration details and to provide/update address details where necessary.

Voters should take their identity document (ID) with them – either a green barcoded ID book, a smartcard ID, or a valid Temporary ID Certificate. They will also need to complete their physical home address on registration or provide sufficient particularities of their place of residence. Documented proof of address (e.g. a municipal account) is not required.

Voters may also check and update their details at their local (municipal) Electoral Commission (IEC) office weekdays during office hours.

Voters are reminded that it is a criminal offence to register and vote in a ward in which they are not ordinarily resident.

By-elections will be held in the following wards:

Eastern Cape:

• Ward 18 in Intsika Yethu Municipality – EC135 with 3 352 registered voters which became vacant as a result of the councillor's death. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:

Voting District/Station Number	Voting Station Details	Latitude	Longitude
11080077	MBAXA JUNIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL	-31.790883	27.702954
11080088	NOMADAMBA JUNIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL	-31.714486	27.767393
11080291	LOWER NCORA JUNIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL	-31.757607	27.747091
11080572	TALENI JUNIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL	-31.778235	27.670243

11080594	KULO NGQAYI JUNIOR SECONDARY	-31.77297	27.814891
	SCHOOL		

Northern Cape:

• Ward 28 in Sol Plaatje Municipality – NC091 with 4 104 registered voters which became vacant as a result of the councillor's resignation. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:

Voting District/Station Number	Voting Station Details	Latitude	Longitude
65440290	COLVILLE COMMUNITY HALL	-28.713769	24.756419
65440649	SALVATION ARMY CHURCH (BEACONSFIELD)	-28.756751	24.787348
65440739	YONDER RESOURCE CENTRE	-28.71331	24.7793

Western Cape:

• Ward 18 in George Municipality – WC044 with 3 012 registered voters which became vacant as a result the councillor's resignation. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:

Voting District/Station Number	Voting Station Details	Latitude	Longitude
97200121	MOTH HALL	-33.967308	22.488675
97200402	NG KERK DENNEOORD	-33.950878	22.473773

Special voting will take place at voting stations as well as through home visits on 9 April 2019 between 08h00 and 17h00. Voters wishing to apply to cast a special vote can apply at their local IEC office during office hours between 25 and 29 March 2019.

Applications for special votes can also be made online via the IEC's website, www.elections.org.za. Once voters have applied online they will receive an SMS notifying them of the outcome when their application has been processed. They can also check the status of their special vote application online at www.elections.org.za.

Voters can also apply for special votes via cellphone by SMSing their identity number to 32249 (Charged at R1). The SMS application facility is only available for those applying to cast a special vote at their voting station and NOT for home visits.

For more information on these by-elections contact your local (municipal) IEC office weekdays during office hours. Contact details for all IEC offices are available on the IEC website at <u>www.elections.org.za</u> under *Contact Us*.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Ensuring free and fair elections

Centurion

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386 For media interviews: Please email requests to <u>spokesperson@elections.org.za</u>

Also find the IEC on -

- Facebook: www.facebook.com/IECSouthAfrica
- Twitter: @IECSouthAfrica
- You Tube: www.youtube.com/user/IECSouthAfrica

ELECTION TIMETABLE FOR ALL MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS CALLED ON OR BEFORE 8 MARCH TO BE HELD ON 10 APRIL 2019

The cut-off dates for the various electoral processes for these by-elections are as follows:

8 March:	Notice calling the by-election on or before, and opening of nomination of candidates
14 March:	Certification of the voters' roll
18 March:	Cut-off date and time for submission of nomination of candidates
19 March:	Notify party/independent nominator of non-compliance of outstanding candidate documents
22 March:	Cut-off date and time for party/independent to submit outstanding ward candidate documents
22 March:	Notices: List of and particulars pertaining to voting stations and mobile voting stations
25 March:	Compilation and certification of lists of candidates contesting a ward
25 March:	Issue certificates to candidates
25 March:	Opening of applications for special votes
29 March:	Closing of applications for special votes
9 April:	Special votes at voting stations and special vote home visits (08h00 to 17h00)
10 April:	By-election (Voting takes place at voting stations between 07h00 and 21h00)

(Note: All deadlines are at 17h00 on the date listed)