Premium Journalist
1 minute read
7 Dec 2017
3:44 pm

Reserve Bank issues licence to country’s third cooperative bank


South Africa’s central bank said on Thursday it had issued the first cooperative banking licence since 2011 to Ziphakamise Savings and Credit Cooperative.

While vaccines are a priority the government also needs to implement structural reforms.

“Ziphakamise Cooperative bank is deemed to have sufficient human, financial and operational capacity to function efficiently and competently as a co-operative bank,” South African Reserve Bank (Sarb) deputy Governor Kuben Naidoo said.

A cooperative banking licence is one of three that the Reserve Bank issues, the others being commercial and mutual.

A cooperative bank is an autonomous association of persons united voluntarily to meet their common economic and social needs and aspirations through a jointly owned and democratically controlled enterprise.

The central bank said Ziphakamise had become eligible to apply for a licence after reaching membership of 200 and R1 million in deposits. As of June this year, it had 618 members and R4 million in deposits.

South Africa currently has two cooperative banks, the OSK Koöperatiewe Bank and Ditsobotla Primary Savings and Credit Cooperative Bank, which were both registered in 2011.

– African News Agency (ANA)

For more news your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.