Local News 23.9.2016 01:03 pm

We are not on holiday – Furman

Dean Furman of Supersport United. ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

Dean Furman of Supersport United. ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

For many, Durban is a holiday destination, but for SuperSport United, they are there to collect maximum points.

Matsatsantsa a Pitori have already collected three out of a possible nine in Durban so far, and they’re looking for more.

“We have come here to do a job, we are not on holiday, we are pretty focused, we got the first part of three points done. Maritzburg is a very difficult place to go to, and I think they are going to be a tough side to beat, especially at home,” said SuperSport captain Dean Furman.

The capital city-based side registered their first win of the season after defeating Maritzburg United 1-0 midweek, and are playing Free State Stars at the King Zwelithini Stadium on Saturday evening. SuperSport adopted the venue as their home ground after extending an olive branch to neighbours Mamelodi Sundowns, allowing them to use the Lucas Moripe Stadium for their Champions League second leg semifinal against Zesco United on Saturday evening.

The 28-year-old skipper has expressed his delight after his side edged past the Team of Choice.

“We are delighted to have our first victory of the season, and hopefully we can go home with as many points as possible. So far we have taken the maximum that is available to us, and we will be looking to do the same in our next two games.”

Matsatsantsa a Pitori face Stars at the King Zwelithini Stadium on Saturday evening.

They will then play Golden Arrows at the Princess Magogo Stadium on September 28.



Celtic 1-2 Arrows
United 0-0 FS Stars
Chiefs 2-0 Maritz United
Plat Stars 0-1 Baroka
Polokwane 3-2 Highlands
Maritzburg Utd 0-1 SuperSport
Highlands 0-1 Chiefs


Pirates vs Plat Stars
Miritz United vs Polokwane
Chiefs vs Maritzburg Utd

psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Arrows 4 9
2 Orlando Pirates 3 7
3 Bidvest Wits 3 7
4 Kaizer Chiefs 4 7
5 Cape Town City 4 7
6 SuperSport United 4 5
7 Polokwane City 4 5
8 Chippa United 2 4
9 Platinum Stars 3 4
10 Baroka FC 4 4
11 Maritzburg Utd 4 4
12 Highlands Park 3 3
13 Ajax Cape Town 4 2
14 Free State Stars 4 2
15 Sundowns 1 1
16 Bloem Celtic 3 1