Local News 24.8.2016 10:29 pm

Lentjies wins it for Maritzburg

Kurt Lentjies of Maritzburg United. (Photo by Anesh Debiky/Gallo Images)

Kurt Lentjies of Maritzburg United. (Photo by Anesh Debiky/Gallo Images)

Kurt Lentjies’ solitary’s goal earned Maritzburg United a 1-0 win over Bloemfontein Celtic in an Absa Premiership clash played at the Dr Molemela Stadium in Bloemfontein on Wednesday night.

The Team of Choice registered a hard-fought victory over Phunya Sele Sele in their first league game of the 2016/17 campaign.

The visitors were denied an early goal by Celtic defender Patrick Tignyemb, who produced a good save to deny Bevan Fransman in the fifth minute.

The former Cameroon under-23 shot-stopper pulled off another decent save eight minutes later, denying Maritzburg midfielder Philani Zulu.

On the half-hour mark, Maritzburg talisman Kurt Lentjies played a dangerous curling corner kick into the box and Tignyemb punched it away.

Phunya Sele Sele pressed the Team of Choice towards halftime as they looked to snatch a goal before the break.

Arrows shot-stopper Virgil Vries produced a good save to deny Celtic midfielder Lyle Lakay on the stroke of halftime.

However, just five minutes into the second-half Lentjies fired Maritzburg into the lead when he beat Tignyemb after following up first from a rebound.

Celtic head coach Serame Letsoaka responded by pulling out Deon Hotto for dribbling wizard Kethokwakhe Masuku in the 56th minute.

The former Orlando Pirates winger forced Maritzburg shot-stopper Vries into a decent save ten minutes later as he made an immediate impact.

With ten minutes left on the clock, Celtic defender Alfred Ndengane pulled the trigger from range, but his attempt went wide of the target.

However, Maritzburg managed to contain Celtic in the late stages of the game and in the end they emerged 1-0 winners.



Chiefs 2-0 Maritz United
Plat Stars 0-1 Baroka
Polokwane 3-2 Highlands
Maritzburg Utd 0-1 SuperSport
Highlands 0-1 Chiefs


Chiefs vs Maritzburg Utd

psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Orlando Pirates 3 7
2 Bidvest Wits 3 7
3 Arrows 3 6
4 Chippa United 2 4
5 Platinum Stars 2 4
6 Kaizer Chiefs 3 4
7 Cape Town City 3 4
8 Maritzburg Utd 3 4
9 SuperSport United 3 4
10 Highlands Park 2 3
11 Ajax Cape Town 3 2
12 Polokwane City 3 2
13 Sundowns 1 1
14 Bloem Celtic 2 1
15 Free State Stars 3 1
16 Baroka FC 2 1