Local News 21.8.2016 09:12 pm

Amajimbos knocked out of African Youth Champs

Coach of South Africa Molefi Ntseki. (Photo by Luke Walker/Gallo Images)

Coach of South Africa Molefi Ntseki. (Photo by Luke Walker/Gallo Images)

South Africa’s under-17 men’s national team, Amajimbos have been knocked out of the African Youth championships after losing 2-0 to Tanzania in the second leg played at Chamazi Stadium in Dar es Salaam on Sunday.

Going into the second leg having been held 1-1 by the Serengeti Boys at Dobsonville stadium two weeks ago, Amajimbos were always facing an uphill task.

Although Tanzania were reduced to 10 men in the 45th minute having taken a 35th min lead through Mohamed Abdallah, they always looked sharp on the counter attack during an absorbing second half.

Molefi Ntseki’s SA side threw everything into the attack in the second half and enjoying numerical advantage, spent most of the second period camped in the hosts own half but lacked the critical cutting edge.

They were duly punished for squandering a host of chances when substitute Ibrahim Ali scored a second goal as proceedings were drawing to a close.

Tanzania will now meet either Congo or Namibia in the final qualifying round for a place at the AYC in Madagascar next year.

“Tanzania looked more mature than our boys and I think that is where the difference was. We must however, keep this team together to form the core of the under-20 side and I think apart from being beaten by Tanzania, most of these youngsters have a bright future,” said coach Molefi Ntseki.

“It is always disappointing not to qualify for a major tournament but I think the country has an abundance of talent and if kept together, we have what it takes to compete with the best.”



Celtic 1-2 Arrows
United 0-0 FS Stars
Chiefs 2-0 Maritz United
Plat Stars 0-1 Baroka


Pirates vs Plat Stars
Maritzburg Utd vs P City
Highlands P vs CT City
Chiefs vs FS Stars

psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Arrows 4 9
2 Orlando Pirates 3 7
3 Bidvest Wits 3 7
4 Kaizer Chiefs 4 7
5 Cape Town City 4 7
6 SuperSport United 4 5
7 Polokwane City 4 5
8 Chippa United 2 4
9 Platinum Stars 3 4
10 Baroka FC 4 4
11 Maritzburg Utd 4 4
12 Highlands Park 3 3
13 Ajax Cape Town 4 2
14 Free State Stars 4 2
15 Sundowns 1 1
16 Bloem Celtic 3 1