National 18.8.2016 11:58 am

Thirteen women appointed mayors in Limpopo

Andrina Matsemela has been deployed to the troubled Mogalakwena Municipality. Picture: Letaba Herald.

Andrina Matsemela has been deployed to the troubled Mogalakwena Municipality. Picture: Letaba Herald.

The appointments take place in the month when South Africa commemorates the 60th anniversary of the historic Women’s March of 1956.

When the ANC in the province announced its incoming mayors following a provincial polling triumph during the recent local government elections, the ruling party did not only include more women but also took into consideration into the much-sought generational mix, much to the delight of the leagues, reports the Capricorn Review.

The Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) has appointed a record of 13 women as mayors, some of whom are graduates of the ANC Youth League, a move PEC spokesperson Khumbuzo Ntshavheni said “is the party’s way of recommitting itself to the struggle for the total emancipation of women”.

ALSO READ: ‘Arrogant, unthinking politician’ Mmusi better be careful – Malema

Among the thirteen mayors are Polokwane Mayor, Thembi Nkadimeng, Sinyosi Shonisani of Makhado Local Municipality, Joyce Bila of the newly-established municipality in the Vhembe region, Sasavona Mathebula of Greater Giyani, Happy Thobejane of Maruleng, Lepelle-Nkumpi’s Nakedi Sibanda, Ephraim Mogale’s Ramadimetja Bella Kupa, Maledimo Maena Bahula of Makhuduthamaga, Elias Motsoaledi’s Julia Mathebe and Andrina Matsemela of the trouble-torn Mogalakwena.

Ntshavheni said: “The process of deploying mayors takes place in the month that South Africa commemorates 60 years since the historic Women’s March of 1956.

“This is also inclusive of those appointments made by the PEC in early July last year.

“The PEC supports the organisational position of women and youth quotas.

“Our view is that the quota on women contributes to the advancement of the struggle for gender equality in our country, whereas the youth quota will assist the organisation to ready the next layer of leadership to take over the responsibility of running of our country.”

Spokesperson for the provincial Youth League Matome Moremi said the league was pleased with the inclusion of the incoming mayors, especially those who have graduated from youth league politics.

He said: “The appointment of former youth league leaders is a confirmation the league is the political school to produce future leaders.”

Moremi added: “We want to applaud our provincial leadership for acknowledging that the youth should form part of the provincial management team.

“We are, meanwhile, hoping that the leadership will consider the youth for the positions of chief whips and speakers in the councils.”

Among the former youth league leaders are Nkadimeng, who served in the politics of South African Students Congress (Sasco), the retained Lephalale Mayor, Jack Maeko, who served as the chairperson of the Waterberg Region alongside Matsemela, current treasurer of Mopani District Happy Thobejane, who is set to head Maruleng Local Municipality, Nkakareng Rakgoale, the Mopani mayor who served in the Mopani regional executive committee, and her counterpart from Vhembe, Florence Radzilani.

Caxton News Service


today in print