National 2.8.2016 08:10 pm

IEC says it’s all systems go for elections

IEC chair Glen Mashinini and his colleagues. Picture: Facebook

IEC chair Glen Mashinini and his colleagues. Picture: Facebook

Voting stations open at 7am on Wednesday and close at 7pm.

Preparations are in place and it is all systems go for what is described by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) as one of South Africa’s biggest elections ever.

IEC chairman Glen Mashinini said all that remains is for the 26.3 million registered voters to come out and cast their votes at the 22 612 voting stations countrywide.

Voting stations open at 07:00 tomorrow morning and close at 19:00 tomorrow night.

Voters who are at voting stations when it closes by 19:00 will still get their chance to cast their votes.

Mashinini said security forces would be deployed around the country and at voting stations to make sure people were safe and not intimidated.

These are the rules:

  • You must be registered to vote and have a valid ID document, smartcard or temporary ID with you;
  • Vote at the station you registered;
  • Voting hours are from 07:00 until 19:00.
  • Make sure your ballot paper is stamped on the back;
  • Dress warmly and prepare for rain in the southern and eastern parts of the country;
  • It is illegal to take a picture or “selfie” with your marked ballot paper;
  • You can take a picture of your marked thumb and post it on social media as #ivoted;
  • Give your address to the IEC before you leave the voting station.
  • Each voter in a metropolitan council will receive two ballot papers – one for their ward candidate and one for a political party;
  • In addition, voters in local councils will receive an additional political party ballot paper for the district council; and
  • All political meetings or marches are prohibited from midnight until midnight on August 3.
  • The IEC reminded the more than 200 000 election staff that the credibility of the election was in their hands.
  • Political parties have been asked to deploy two party agents to each voting station.
  • There are 8 metros,
  • 205 local municipalities; and
  • 44 district councils.



today in print