Local News 2.8.2016 11:06 am

MTN8 fixtures and venues confirmed

MTN8 trophy. Photo by Anesh Debiky / Gallo Images

MTN8 trophy. Photo by Anesh Debiky / Gallo Images

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has announced the dates and venues for the 2016/17 MTN8 fixtures.

The 2016/17 MTN8 competition will kick-off on Friday, August 25 – three days into the new domestic season – with a fixture between last season’s runners-up playing against Cape Town’s newbie.

The match between Kaizer Chiefs and Cape Town City FC will be played at the majestic Cape Town Stadium on Friday night. This will be the first of the four quarterfinal fixtures that weekend and an opportunity for Cape Town City FC to showcase their potential in the first domestic Cup competition.

Chiefs, having lost to another Cape side in last season’s MTN8 final, are determined to write a new chapter this season.

On Saturday afternoon, Chippa United will make their maiden appearance in the MTN8 competition when they travel to Rustenburg to play Platinum Stars at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium. Chippa enjoyed an impressive run of form at the end of 2015/16 season and they will be coming up against a Stars that have carved a reputation for being dangerous in Cup competitions.

Later on Saturday, league runners-up Bidvest Wits will be at home to Orlando Pirates at the Bidvest Stadium. Pirates, under new coach Muhsin Ertugral, will be looking at making a bold statement against a Wits side that had an oh-so-close finish to the league last season and are now desperately searching for silverware.

On Sunday, reigning league champions Mamelodi Sundowns will be at home at Loftus Stadium against neighbours SuperSport United in the Tshwane derby.

Ticketing information will follow in due course.

MTN8 fixtures:

Friday, August 26
Cape Town City FC vs Kaizer Chiefs (Cape Town Stadium) – 8pm

Saturday, August 27
Platinum Stars vs Chippa United (Royal Bafokeng) – 3pm
Bidvest Wits vs Orlando Pirates (Bidvest Stadium) – 8.15pm

Sunday, August 28
Mamelodi Sundowns vs SuperSport United (Loftus Versfeld) – 3pm



Celtic 1-2 Arrows
United 0-0 FS Stars
Chiefs 2-0 Maritz United
Plat Stars 0-1 Baroka
Polokwane 3-2 Highlands
Maritzburg Utd 0-1 SuperSport
Highlands 0-1 Chiefs


Pirates vs Plat Stars
Miritz United vs Polokwane
Chiefs vs Maritzburg Utd

psl log

# Team GP Pts
1 Arrows 4 9
2 Orlando Pirates 3 7
3 Bidvest Wits 3 7
4 Kaizer Chiefs 4 7
5 Cape Town City 4 7
6 SuperSport United 4 5
7 Polokwane City 4 5
8 Chippa United 2 4
9 Platinum Stars 3 4
10 Baroka FC 4 4
11 Maritzburg Utd 4 4
12 Highlands Park 3 3
13 Ajax Cape Town 4 2
14 Free State Stars 4 2
15 Sundowns 1 1
16 Bloem Celtic 3 1